Discussions · Others

Loving And Accepting Yourself + Book Recommendations! < 3

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

Hi everyone, I’ve been really struggling with self-love lately. I’ve just been really hating the way I look and trying to change my looks as much as I can, and I’ve come to realise that it’s been really affecting my mood and it’s been very unhealthy for my mental health.

 

So I thought for today’s blogpost, I would share with you guys some tips on loving and accepting yourself which I’ve been trying to implement into my life as well as some recommendations for books with self love / acceptance elements 🙂 Let’s get started with the post!

 

HOW TO LOVE AND ACCEPT YOURSELF MORE 

 

IMG_9475.PNG

 

  • Try not to compare yourself with others 

 

I’m someone who is constantly comparing myself with other girls. Whenever I go on social media and see photos of models or just random girls, I can’t help but think ” Why can’t I have their features? ” or ” I wish I looked like them. ” which is very unhealthy and that is something I’m trying to stop doing!

 

If you’re struggling with the same thing as me, I think it’s good to always remind yourself that we are all unique and beautiful in our own way 🙂

 

  • Instead of focusing on your flaws, focus on your good points

 

This is something that I’ve recently started doing and it’s definitely helped me feel better about myself!

 

One example is that my teeth are rather crooked and I’ll always wish that I was born with naturally straight teeth but then I remember that even though I have crooked teeth, many people have complimented me saying that I have a nice smile 🙂

 

  • Surround yourself with people who will bring you up 

 

I can’t emphasise how important it is to really choose who you want to be friends with wisely. It’s good to hang out with people who are usually positive and supportive as well, then you all will be able to bring each other up and just have a really good friendship!

 

  • Don’t look at the mirror too often 

 

I’m guilty of always looking a the mirror and hating the way I look. I saw this tip from some website and I decided to try it out, and it actually helps! It helps me not focus too much on my appearance and I’m able to get my work done without always feeling like crap about myself.

 

IMG_9477.PNG

 

  • Take care of your mental health 

 

The last tip I have is to always take care of your mental health! Mental health is so so so important and usually when my mental health is up, I won’t feel crappy about myself 🙂 Remember to always have self care days to just pamper and treat yourself!

 

BOOK RECS

 

Won’t be going into detail about each individual book but definitely check them out on Goodreads ( links below ) and add them to your TBR!!! ❤

 

IMG_9435.PNG

 

  • Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven 

 

Link to Goodreads page – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28686840-holding-up-the-universe?ac=1&from_search=true

 

My spoiler free review – { Book Review } : Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

 

IMG_9436.PNG

 

  • Milk And Honey by Rupi Kaur ( This is more of an empowerment book! ) 

 

Link to Goodreads page – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23513349-milk-and-honey?ac=1&from_search=true

 

My mini review – Milk And Honey by Rupi Kaur // Mini Review + My Favourite Poems

 

IMG_9437.PNG

 

  • Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel 

 

Link to Goodreads page – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24849422-faceless?ac=1&from_search=true

 

IMG_9438.PNG

 

  • Dumplin by Julie Murphy 

 

Link to Goodreads page – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18304322-dumplin?ac=1&from_search=true

 

e9129addc46fc25913e15332145cae9b

 

That’s all for today’s post and I hope you all enjoyed it! If you’re struggling with self love at the moment, I really hope this blogpost benefited you one way or another and here’s a quote for you ” You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection ” ❤ Have a great day / night and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

8 thoughts on “Loving And Accepting Yourself + Book Recommendations! < 3

  1. Sorry to hear you’re struggling right now. I hope you fight your way past it because you are an awesome person. I always enjoy your photos on Instagram and I like reading your blog posts.

    I can admit that I’ve had times where I’ve been upset about how I look or how my weight sometimes makes me feel, but I always reminded myself that my mind and my personality are what I’d rather focus on, you know, the positive aspects of me. Thankfully I have a nice group of friends who also seem to like my smarts and my nerdiness, and of course I have an amazing boyfriend who thinks I’m amazing how I am, curves and fat rolls and all.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Last year I probably would have responded much differently. I have been slowly piecing my life together and finding the people who make my life feel great. Even with the emotional rollercoaster and stress of my parents’ divorce this year, 2017 has been a year of growth and acceptance and peace of mind. And it has taken until almost my 29th birthday to feel this way. So it’s okay to have doubts and to struggle, so long as you also keep in mind the positives and strengths of your person.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful post! Your so right taking care of your mental health and learning to accept yourself are both so important. I’m a pretty confident person when it comes to my looks but I’m bad about comparing myself to others. Mostly I get envious of the fact that they seem to have their life way more together then I do, but I’ll often think things like why can’t my hair be as pretty as her’s. I just remind myself each day that everyone is unique and embrace what makes me different and remind myself that I am enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

