Others

TIPS & TRICKS | Finding Time + Motivation To Read!

Happy Monday everyone, hope you all had a wonderful weekend! ❤
For the past few months, I’ve been struggling trying to balance reading and my busy schedule. There are times where I can go a couple of weeks without picking a book up and the amount of books I’ve been reading a month have definitely decreased. I thought I would share with you guys some tips I practice to try to motivate and help find more time for myself to read 🙂 Let’s get started!
It’s good to set aside a certain time in the day to read because you can slowly implement it to your daily routine. For myself, I set aside at least one hour of reading time before I go to bed. If you’re a morning person, you can choose to start of your day reading a couple of chapters as it can be very relaxing!
Taking part in different readalongs and readathons will be a great help because there’ll be people around that will help motivate you to read and it’s also a good way to make some new friends and future reading buddies! 🙂
Physical books can be a pain to carry around and read them since they’re so bulky so a good alternative are eBooks!!! I usually download the eBook version of a book I’m currently reading so that I can still bring it along with me to read while on the bus or when I’m waiting for someone 🙂
img_4654
I personally find that novellas and anthologies are such quick reads! They’re easy for you to get through and they’re perfect if you’re having a busy week and just want something short to read.
img_4655
I really like using reading goals to motivate myself to read and you don’t need to use Goodreads to set yourself a goal. Instead, you can just set a small goal ( E.g Read 3 chapters of my book today ) and most of the time, it’ll motivate you to hit that goal 🙂
e9129addc46fc25913e15332145cae9b
That’s all for today’s blogpost and I hope you guys enjoyed it! Feel free to share with me in the comments any tips you have on finding more time to read as well ❤ Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!
img_6579
25 thoughts on “TIPS & TRICKS | Finding Time + Motivation To Read!

  1. If you are someone who has a long commute to work or school, or if you spend a lot of time cleaning up around the house, then listening to audiobooks can help you up your reading goals as well.

    Personally, I just always have a book with me, whether a physical book or the e-books I have downloaded on my phone. That way if you have a spare few minutes you can just pull out a book and read. Even just a few minutes here and there really adds up over time.

    A tip I find that some readers don’t like to give is that if you are struggling to stay interested in a book, it’s okay to set it aside and pick up something else. You’ll read more if you are actually invested in the story. You can always go back to the other one at a later time.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. These are all great ideas. Once I started setting aside an hour or so before bed every night, my amount of reading went way up. And novellas are such a nice way to get some more reading done. I love using them as a break between review copies, especially if I have a lot of review books in a certain genre and want something quick to break up the repetition.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ebooks are totally my friends! I’ve been able to read a lot more when I started to read on my phone (bcs its even a pain to carry around my ipad). I also read faster on ebooks for some reason, I don’t know why lol Great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel like I should try setting mini reading goals for myself. I’m already taking part in the Goodreads reading challenge but sometimes it only makes me feel less motivated to read because it’s taking me so long to get through a certain # of books. I don’t think I’ve ever participated in a readathon before so that’s definitely something I want to try eventually. And yay for ebooks haha. I read most of my books on my Kindle because it’s so easy to carry everywhere with me and pull it out when I’m bored.
    Rachana @ Spun

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

