Book Reviews

Quirky, Diverse, Oreos!!! | Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda ( BOOK REVIEW )

IMG_3528.PNG
Hi everyone, hope you all had a great weekend! 🙂 I apologise for being inactive for my blog the past few days, I fell sick so I wasn’t able to write up any posts.
I haven’t done a book review in ages so I thought today I would do a review of Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda!!! I’ve been meaning to do a review for this book for quite some time now but I never got around to it, and I’m excited to be sharing with you guys my thoughts today. Without further ado, let’s get started!
Release date : 7 April 2015 
Published by : Balzar + Bray 
Synopsis :
Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. 
My rating : ♥♥♥♥.5 / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here : 
Book Depository – https://www.bookdepository.com/Simon-vs-the-Homo-Sapiens-Agend-Becky-Albertalli/9780062348678?ref=grid-view&qid=1498876009179&sr=1-3
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Simon-vs-Homo-Sapiens-Agenda/dp/0062348671/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1498876031&sr=8-1

FullSizeRender.jpg

TO BEGIN THIS POST, I HAVE TO SAY THAT I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!! I seriously want to smack myself because it took me so long to finally pick it up but better late than never right? 🙂 Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda has had a lot of hype surrounding it pretty much since it was released and it definitely lived up to my expectations!
This was such a quick and fun read, and I couldn’t put the book down. It was very heartwarming, funny, touching at times and it’s everything I ever want in a contemporary novel. I love love LOVE the LGBTQ aspects in the novel and I felt that the scenes where some characters came out to their families was a realistic portrayal!
I also loved all of the characters and THE ROMANCE. I CAN’T EVEN EXPLAIN HOW MUCH I ADORE THE ROMANCE IN THIS BOOK. It was so quirky, cute and even awkward at times but that’s what makes the romance realistic as well! Throughout the book you’re trying to figure out who ” Blue ” is and I really couldn’t guess who it was so it was exciting when Blue’s identity was revealed. Apart from the romance, Simon VS also focused on family and friendships! Both were portrayed very beautifully and Simon is so lucky to have such supportive friends and family members 🙂
e9129addc46fc25913e15332145cae9b
Overall if you haven’t yet picked up this book, I would highly recommend that you do soon and if you have read it, definitely let me know your thoughts in the comments! Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye ❤

img_6579

 

5 thoughts on “Quirky, Diverse, Oreos!!! | Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda ( BOOK REVIEW )

  1. This was a good book and it was cute. I just don’t think it was as good (for me at least) as the hype made it seem. I’m glad a lot of people are reading it and loving it though. Diverse books are so important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

