Recommendations

Books That Surprised Me! : )

IMG_0037
Happy weekend everyone! 🙂
Today I’m going to be doing somewhat of a book recommendations post and I’ll be sharing with you all five books that have surprised me in a good way. This blogpost suggestion came from @/S_M_Johnston on Twitter so thank you for this suggestion! These books could’ve surprised me in terms of the plot or me having low expectations going into them and then being surprised at how good they were. Let’s get started!
IMG_0058.jpg
I’ve talked about Ruined a couple of times here on my blog and also on my bookstagram but I literally haven’t stopped thinking about this book. It seriously exceeded my expectations and I’m really excited for the sequel, Avenged, that comes out next month!
IMG_0062.jpg
Illuminae really surprised me because at the beginning to the middle half of the book, I was really bored and had no clue what was going on but the ending was just so mind-blowing and I ended up really loving the story!!!
IMG_0060.jpg
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Heartless is a retelling of Alice In Wonderland and going into the novel, I also had lower expectations because I’ve previously read another Alice In Wonderland retelling and really didn’t enjoy it so I wasn’t expecting to be a big fan of Heartless BUT I LOVED IT. The plot and the world were just wonderful and I really loved the characters too ❤
IMG_0061.jpg
  • Ignite by Danielle Rogland 
I received a review copy of Ignite from the publisher and I didn’t know if I would enjoy it because it’s a YA dystopian novel and I have a love-hate relationship with the genre but I was really surprised by how good this book was! It was super action packed and my favourite aspect of the book were the wonderful cast of characters. Definitely check this book out if you love YA dystopians 🙂
IMG_0059.jpg
Our Chemical Hearts is a YA contemporary novel and it surprised me because I didn’t expect the story to stay in my mind for such a long time. The story took a different direction from where I thought it would go and though this isn’t my favourite contemporary novel of all time, it’s still a great and deep book and I would highly recommend it.
e9129addc46fc25913e15332145cae9b
That’s all for today’s post and I hope you enjoyed it! If you’ve read any of the books mentioned, definitely let me know your thoughts in the comments and also feel free to let me know what are some books that surprised you in a good way 🙂

img_6579

4 thoughts on “Books That Surprised Me! : )

  1. This is a great list, and a great blog idea 😀 I have read Illuminae and Heartless. I really loved Illuminae because the format, and of course the story. Heartless was good too 🙂

    Like

  2. Illuminae is definitely one that we share in common! It was just too awesome not to love! ❤ AHHHHH AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ HEARTLESS. I saw it at the bookstore the other day and my sister had to almost drag me out. I NEED IT. Going to be checking out the other books on this list!

    Like

  3. The only ones I’ve read on here are Illuminae and Ruined. Illuminae surprised me in that I didn’t like it! I was SO hoping to enjoy it but I just didn’t. Ruined surprised me for the same reason as you! I thought it wasn’t going to be all that great, but I actually REALLY loved it. I can’t wait for the sequel!

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

Leave a Reply

