Book Reviews

5 Reasons Why You Should Read : The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas!

32075671._UY400_SS400_
Hi everyone! I recently read The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, which was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017, and it was simply phenomenal. The Hate U Give is a YA novel inspired by the #BlackLivesMatter movement and I can’t emphasise enough how impactful this novel is. It has greatly impacted and touched me and I’m sure it has done the same to many others.
I thought for today’s post, I would share with you all 5 reasons why everyone should pick up this book immediately. Without further ado, let’s get started 🙂
IMG_9360
When reading The Hate U Give, I felt really horrified and very upset with regards to how unfairly the characters were treated in the book. It got to the point where I was close to breaking down in tears because I was so angry with how they were being discriminated and wrongly accused.
Then I realised that, this is something that is still happening in our society. We constantly see things like this happening in the news and The Hate U Give really gave me a reminder of how real this is. It’s honestly horrifying.
IMG_9360-2
I think it’s important that we continue to support #OwnVoices authors as we sometimes get to see their experiences and I like that sometimes #OwnVoices books are more personal!
IMG_9360-3
Starr Carter is our main character and I can’t even begin to describe how much I love her character.
The Hate U Give really showed that you don’t need weapons or special fighting skills to be badass and to make an impact on the world. All you need is courage and your voice. Starr is just such an admirable and strong character, I can’t imagine going through what she experienced at her age but she was really brave and she made an impact on the lives of many.
IMG_9360-4
One of my favourite aspects of the book is the topic of family. Starr’s family is just so supportive, loving and they have a really close bond with each other and it warms my heart reading about them in the book ❤
IMG_9360-5
”  I’ll never give up. I’ll never be quiet. I promise “
– Starr Carter
The Hate U Give reminds us that your voice matters and you can make an impact in the world too, which I just find that it’s such an important message that is given to the readers 🙂
e9129addc46fc25913e15332145cae9b
I hope you all enjoyed this blogpost and hopefully this pushed you to pick up a copy of The Hate U Give! Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post ❤
img_6579
6 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why You Should Read : The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas!

  1. Love this review and all its style (plus its so pretty!) This book has been on my TBR and I NEED IT. REALLY. I NEED IT. I must get my hands on it soon or else I will burst XD It makes me so so happy that you enjoyed it and all your points make me want to read it all the more! A really wonderful review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

