Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Banard

Hello lovelies! For today’s blogpost, I’m going to be reviewing A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Banard 🙂 I was kindly sent a review copy from Pansing Books and I can’t wait to be sharing my thoughts with you all today. This review will not contain spoilers so I hope you’ll enjoy!
Release date : 12 January 2017 
Published by : Macmillan Children’s Books 
Synopsis :
Steffi doesn’t talk, but she has so much to say.
Rhys can’t hear, but he can listen.
Their love isn’t a lightning strike, it’s the rumbling roll of thunder.
Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life – she’s been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He’s deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she’s assigned to look after him. To Rhys, it doesn’t matter that Steffi doesn’t talk, and as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she’s falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. 
From the bestselling author of Beautiful Broken Things comes a love story about the times when a whisper is as good as a shout.
My rating : ♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
AVAILABLE AT ALL MAJOR BOOKSTORES 🙂 
Book Depository – https://www.bookdepository.com/Quiet-Kind-of-Thunder-Sar-Barnard/9781509810987
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Quiet-Kind-Thunder-Sara-Barnard/dp/1509810986/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1488636489&sr=1-1&keywords=a+quiet+kind+of+thunder
IMG_2183.jpg
( Special thanks to Pansing Books for sending me a review copy! All opinions stated are my own ) 
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed A Quiet Kind Of Thunder! It was well written, the characters were pretty enjoyable to read about and I appreciated the diversity in this book. Our first main character, Steffi, has social anxiety and selected mutism while our second main character, Rhys, is deaf. I thought the author did a good job in talking about these topics and I could especially relate to Steffi’s anxiety. There were a lot of different lessons we can learn from the story and I think that’s something everyone will appreciate!
The main focus is, of course, the romance. I felt the romance was pretty cute and I liked that we got to see it develop more throughout the story. However, there is insta-love and there were certain parts of the book that made me cringe so much 😦 Though I only gave it three stars, it was still a very quick and cute read and I’m sure many others will enjoy it!
hong
That’s all for my review and I hope you all enjoyed it! Let me know in the comments if you’ve read A Quiet Kind Of Thunder and what were your thoughts about it. Also if you have any other contemporary book recommendations, do let me know in the comments too 🙂 Have a wonderful week ahead and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

2 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Banard

Leave a Reply

