Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

IMG_6286.jpg
Hi everyone! I’m finally doing a book review today and I’m going to be reviewing History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera 🙂 This is Adam’s second novel and overall, I enjoyed it but I also had some issues with it. Without further ado, let’s get started with the review!
Release date : 17 January 2017
Published by : Soho Teen
Synopsis :
When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.
To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.
If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.
My rating : ♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → https://www.bookdepository.com/History-Is-All-You-Left-Me-Adam-Silver/9781616956929?ref=grid-view
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/History-All-You-Left-Me/dp/1616956925/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486799902&sr=8-1&keywords=history+is+all+you+left+me
IMG_4949.jpg
Super unpopular opinion, but I’m a little disappointed with History Is All You Left Me. Considering all the rave reviews and hype it’s been getting, I thought I would absolutely love it but it just didn’t meet up to my expectations 😦
Starting with what I enjoyed about the novel, I really loved the chemistry between Theo and Griffin! They were such a cute couple and I’m glad that we got to see the journey of their relationship, through the good and bad 🙂 Secondly, I felt that Adam dealt with the topic of grief very well which is good. Lastly,  there are really great LGBTQ+ elements in the novel!
As for the things I didn’t like, firstly, I found myself not caring much for the characters towards the end of the book. I loved that at the beginning but after awhile, I just grew bored and I didn’t feel much emotion towards them. Also, there were other romances in the novel but they just seemed really force 😦
hong
Nonetheless, I would still recommend this book to others because I’m sure other people will love it more than I did 🙂 If you guys have read History Is All You Left Me, definitely let me know your thoughts in the comments. Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

4 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

  1. I was lucky enough to see Adam at Barnes & Noble during their Teen Book Fest back in June and got a signed ARC of History is All You Left Me, and then I devoured the book so quickly. It was an emotional rollercoaster and I gave it 5 stars. I completely understand your thoughts and opinions on the book. Thankfully we all don’t have to love, like, or dislike the same books to the same degrees. It’s part of what I love about the book community (usually, since we all know there are trolls out there). And I’ll second utopiastateofmind on liking that you still recommend that people check out a book even if you don’t 100% love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww that’s awesome! ❤ And yes agreed, that's something I love about the book community too 🙂 I really like that we get to see different opinions from different people, be it whether they enjoyed or didn't enjoy the book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

