Others

Most Disappointing Books Of 2016 :(

IMG_4063.jpg
Hi everyone! 🙂 This blogpost is a little late but I’m here today to share with you guys my most disappointing books of 2016. These books aren’t necessarily 1 or 2 star reads but mostly books whereby I had super high expectations for but they let me down. Also, please don’t feel offended if any of the books listed are your favourites! Let’s get started.

IMG_4055.jpg

1. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany 
The first one is Cursed Child and I’ve seen this book on so many blogger’s / booktuber’s list of disappointing books, and I’m honestly not even surprised. Though it was nice to be back into this world and see all the old characters again, the plot was a let down and the characters were acting really weirdly. This was definitely a major disappointment for many 😦

IMG_4056.jpg

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Me Before You was a book that was really hyped up and I had such high expectations going into the novel but I found myself not caring much about the characters and the romance didn’t seem to have much chemistry to me.

IMG_4057.jpg

3. The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry 
The Love That Split The World is probably the only book in this list whereby I gave it one star. I really thought this book was going to be super amazing because the premise sounded really great but it was a major letdown. I do have a full review talking about this book so you can click HERE to check it out if you’re interested!

IMG_4058.jpg

4. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard 
Glass Sword is the sequel to Red Queen and I honestly liked the first book way more. It was action-packed but I found myself disconnected from the story and the main character really annoyed me 😦

IMG_4059.jpg

5. A Book Of Spirits And Thieves by Morgan Rhodes 
This is the prequel to the Falling Kingdoms series and if you’ve been following me for awhile, you would know that I absolutely love the Falling Kingdoms series so I had super high hopes going into this. Unfortunately, it was pretty boring and I didn’t care much about any of the characters 😦 I also have a full review HERE if you’re interested!

IMG_4060.jpg

6. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 
Lastly, we have The Raven Boys which is another very popular and well-loved book! I did give this book a high rating but only because the ending was amazing. The rest of the book was super slow and boring and I found myself super disconnected to the characters.
hong
Those are my most disappointing books of 2016 and I hope you all enjoyed this post! Do let me know in the comments which were your most disappointing books of 2016 as I would love to hear your opinions and we can discuss as well 😀 Have a great week and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

21 thoughts on “Most Disappointing Books Of 2016 :(

  1. I ended up having to DNF Glass Sword quite early on and that saddened me as I loved Red Queen. I’m also not really sold on the Raven Cycle in general. I did come to like them but I don’t think they deserve all the hype they get.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Everyone just seems to be obsessed with the characters and I didn’t particularly feel connected to them in any way. I did like the story though – it just didn’t come across as good as everyone says it is.

        Like

  2. I also had a bit of difficulty getting into the hype of The Raven Boys. I felt that Blue’s character was less a protagonist, more a plot device. Though the boys themselves were wonderful and the ending satisfying 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read the other books on this list (although admittedly I borrowed The Love That Split the World from the library and never dedicated time to reading it), but I was sorely disappointed by Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. After reading the book late, I expected much more plot and character development, and references to the Harry Potter books. I’ve heard that seeing the play in person offers a more engaging and enjoyable experience, but for now I suppose I’ll have to swallow my discontent with this installation😂.

    claire @ clairefy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG I agree wholeheartedly with the Raven Boys and Glass Sword! I recently read the Dream Thieves and it didn’t get much better except, again for the ending so I guess I’m going to have to continue reading it! If you want more thoughts on my least/ most fave books of 2016 I filmed a video on my YouTube https://youtu.be/CgcdQsMHxhY

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with Glass Sword, but the book trailer for King’s Cage gave me goosebumps, so I’m hopeful that this book will be much better. And yes, Cursed Child was such a disappointment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

