Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

IMG_3265.jpg
Happy Monday lovelies! I’m finally  back today with a book review and I’m going to be reviewing More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera 🙂 This book was seriously so amazing and I’m super excited to be sharing my thoughts with you all today. Let’s get started!
Release date : 2 June 2015
Published by : Soho Teen
Synopsis :
In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.
Why does happiness have to be so hard?
My rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository – http://www.bookdepository.com/More-Happy-Than-Not-Adam-Silver/9781616956776?ref=grid-view
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/More-Happy-Than-Adam-Silvera/dp/1616955600/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1483753969&sr=1-1

IMG_0605.jpg

( Trigger warning : Suicide, grief ) 
I finished More Happy Than Not in 2 sittings and I really really loved it! More Happy Than Not was gipping, real, dark yet a beautiful story about love and self discovery.
It’s a very character driven novel and throughout the book, you follow the journey of one of the main characters, Aaron. I think my overall favourite thing about this novel was seeing how Aaron grew as a person and came to term with his sexuality. He went through lots of self discovery in the novel and it was just wonderful to see him grow. This book also has a very honest portrayal of coming out to your loved ones and I think many people will appreciate that 🙂
Another aspect of the novel I enjoyed were the characters and the friendships portrayed! There’s a wide cast of characters and they’re all very unique in their own ways. I felt that the way Adam wrote his characters were just so accurate to actual teenagers in our society, be it the way they talked or behaved, and I thought that made the whole novel even more realistic.
hong
Overall if you’re looking for a character driven, LGBTQ and #OwnVoices novel, do check this one out! I’m super excited to read more of Adam’s work, especially History Is All You Left Me which comes out this month 🙂 Thank you all for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

6 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

  1. I absolutely loved this book. I loved how it exploded platonic relationships as well. I also loved how the MC was from a low income family as we rarely see that in YA. This book explored so many important issues in an amazing way. Honestly I can’t wait for History Is All You Left Me because it’s going to be just as good if not better than More Happy Than Not
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  2. More Happy Than Not was a really interesting read, and I can honestly say that History is All You Left Me is just as amazing. The characters are just so fully realized and real, and the book will likely make you cry a couple times. I’m already anticipating Adam’s third novel: They Both Die at the End.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

