Others

2017 Bookish Goals + Resolutions :)

IMG_2118.jpg
Hello everyone, I hope you all are well! Today I’m here to share with you all my 2017 bookish goals as well as other life resolutions 🙂 I don’t really make resolutions because I always fail to stick to them but I thought I would try my best to stick to them this year!
Starting off with my 2017 bookish / reading goals :

IMG_1606.jpg

  • Read 80 books 
In 2016, my goal was 65 books and I ended up reading 92 books so I thought I would challenge myself in 2017 🙂 I’m going to be pretty busy with school this year so hopefully I’ll be able to accomplish my goal but even if I don’t, I’m not going to stress myself out too much!
  • Read at least 2-3 diverse books per month 
I really want to make it a priority to read more diverse #ownvoices books this year and I’ve found so many of them to add to my TBR, thanks to recommendations from friends or social media platforms, and I’m very excited to be diversifying my TBR this year 🙂 Some diverse books on my TBR are :

img_2116

  • Continue to constantly upload 3 blogposts per week 
I think I did pretty well in terms of uploading blogposts consistently in 2016 and I would like to carry that to 2017. The only downside is that as mentioned earlier, I will be really busy with school so I don’t know if I’ll be able to upload 3 blogposts per week but I shall try!
  • Visit the library more often 
Recently, I’ve been going to the library more often because I’m trying to save money and borrow books instead of buying them and it just made me reminisce the times when I was a kid where I would always want to borrow books from the library!
  • Read more non-fiction novels
Non-fiction is probably the only genre I’ve never branched out to and I want to change that! If you have any non-fiction book recommendations, do let me know in the comments 🙂

hong

As for my other personal resolutions :
  • Try to really eat healthier
I started doing this in 2016 and I’ve been trying to cut down junk food, sweets and soft drinks 🙂 In 2017, I would like to eat more servings of vegetables. I really don’t like eating vegetables so that’s going to be a challenge for me!
  • Learn to accept myself 
I struggle with self-acceptance and I’m also very insecure about myself so in 2017, I want to learn how to love and accept myself again.
  • Put myself and my mental health as my top priority 
I’m someone who always puts others before myself  which is great but sometimes I spend too much time worrying about others and then forgetting to take care of myself first and that affects my mental health at time because of the stress.
  • Donate more to charities 
I love donating to charities so I’m going to try donating to more charities this year ❤
hong
Those are all my bookish and life goals for 2017 and I hope you all enjoyed it! Do let me know in the comments what are some of your 2017 bookish / life resolutions and we can chat about it there 🙂 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

4 thoughts on “2017 Bookish Goals + Resolutions :)

  1. Put some olive oil, salt and pepper on basically any vegetable, roast them in the oven and they are instantly improved! Just a tip 🙂
    We also both have the goal of going to the library more. I loved going to libraries when I was a kid and I also want to be more economical. Good luck with your resolutions!

    Like

  2. I’m trying to read more non-fiction too!

    I have a couple recommendations for non-fiction:
    – Wonder Women by Sam Maggs is great if you want to learn more about kickass women throughout history. The illustrations are adorable, and it is really engaging.
    – If you’re interested in DC comics/Lois Lane then Investigating Lois Lane by Tim Hanley is a really good read. I know nothing about comics, but could still follow the content.
    – Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari is all around good. If you’re already familiar with him, it is even better.
    – The Girl with Seven Names: A North Korean Defector’s Story by Hyeonseo Lee. As the title suggests, it is about a girl who escapes North Korea.
    – While it is very dense, The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn by Eric Ives is amazing. If you’re interested in Tudor history/Anne Boleyn, then it is a must read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

