Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : The Weight Of Zero by Karen Fortunati

IMG_0065.jpg
Happy Monday everyone, hope you all had / are having a wonderful Christmas! ❤ For today’s blogpost, I’m going to be reviewing The Weight Of Zero by Karen Fortunati. This book has become one of my all time favourite books and I just loved it so much. I’m so excited to be sharing about this book with you all and don’t worry about spoilers because this review is spoiler free. Let’s get started!
Release date : 11 October 2016 
Published by : Delacorte Press 
Synopsis :
Seventeen-year-old Cath knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disease, has almost triumphed once, propelling Catherine to her first suicide attempt. With Zero only temporarily restrained by the latest med du jour, time is running out. In an old ballet shoebox, Catherine stockpiles meds, preparing to take her own life when Zero next arrives.
But Zero’s return is delayed. Unexpected relationships along with the care of a new psychiatrist start to alter Catherine’s perception of her diagnosis. But will this be enough? This is a story of loss and grief and hope and how the many shapes of love – maternal, romantic and platonic – impact a young woman’s struggle with mental illness.
My rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository – http://www.bookdepository.com/Weight-of-Zero-Karen-Fortunati/9781101938898?ref=grid-view
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Weight-Zero-Karen-Fortunati/dp/1101938897/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1482418004&sr=8-1&keywords=the+weight+of+zero

IMG_5831.jpg

( Thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me a copy for review! Trigger warning for suicide and grief )
The Weight Of Zero has definitely become one of my favourite reads of 2016. It was a beautiful, heartbreaking, bittersweet and realistic story about the journey of our main character, Catherine, as she battles her bipolar disorder and depression. As this is more of a character driven novel, I won’t be talking much about the plot but focusing more on Catherine instead.
Throughout the story, you’re following Catherine’s life very closely and it makes you feel like you’re her close friend. You’re following the happy, sad, confused, angry, memorable moments of her life and you just feel as though you have a close connection to her. As mentioned above, she struggles with her bipolar disorder, depression and grief. I’m unable to relate to the grief she feels from an incident and her bipolar disorder but I could strong relate to the depression aspect. In the novel, depression is characterised as ” Zero ” and there are some days where ” Zero ” leaves Catherine alone but there are also days where ” Zero ” hits Catherine hard. I’ve been battling with depression for almost 4 years now and it’s an ongoing battle. Sometimes the depression isn’t there but some days it stays with you and doesn’t leave, just like what Catherine experienced. Reading this novel brought me to tears at time because of how real it was and I didn’t feel alone.
There was also a really adorable romance in the novel and I really appreciated the fact that the romance didn’t overpower the whole story and the romance wasn’t always rainbows and butterflies. I also really really loved the friendship aspect in the novel and it was just really wonderful seeing Catherine have a friend that would always be there for her. Being introduced to Michael’s family was really great as well because they’re such a fun bunch of people and they’re very welcoming towards Catherine. The ending of the novel was really bittersweet. Closing the book was like saying goodbye to a character you’ve seen grow as a person and it just makes you want to hold on to Catherine and not let her go.
hong
Before I conclude this review, I would just like to add in what they author told me and maybe that will make you more interested to purchase a copy!
” When I was writing this story, the reader I had in mind was someone who was struggling – it didn’t matter the reason – just somebody who had or was going through a rough time. I really wanted the book to be a message of hope that everything passes, even those horrible times. And that a support – friend, relative, counselor or even a stranger who shows some kindness – can help move us along. “
The Weight Of Zero is such a wonderful story and I hope that this review pushed you to pick up a copy for yourself and experience this beautiful story and the journey it takes you. Thank you all so much for reading this review and I will see you in my next post, bye! ❤

img_6579

3 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : The Weight Of Zero by Karen Fortunati

  1. The Weight Of Zero is a book that I’ve been doing a dance with every time we cross paths. I know I’m very interested in reading this book because its protog struggles with depression and is Bi-polar…I was just a bit weary on whether its handled well. I’ve only seen positive feedback & reading that last bit you’ve included from the author really helps seal the deal. Adding this one to my online cart, nice review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

