Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill

IMG_8165.jpg
Hi everyone, hope you all are well! I’m finally back with another book review and today, I’ll be reviewing Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill 🙂 I was sent an ARC of this from the publisher and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all. Without further ado, let’s get started with the review!
Release date : 27 December 2016 
Published by : Harcourt Childrens Books
Synopsis :
Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.
However, it’s not so simple.
The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force. 
My rating : ♥♥♥.5 / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository – http://www.bookdepository.com/Ever-the-Hunted-Erin-Summerill/9780544664456?ref=grid-view
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Ever-Hunted-Clash-Kingdoms-Novel/dp/0544664450/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1481029641&sr=1-1&keywords=ever+the+hunted+by+erin+summerill
IMG_9463.jpg
( Disclaimer : I was sent an ARC from HMH for review, all opinions stated are my own! )
Ever The Hunted is a YA fantasy novel filled with magic, romance, action and revenge and even though Ever The Hunted is one of my most anticipated releases of December, I must say that I’m a little disappointed. Starting off with the storyline, I did enjoy the overall premise and there were some parts that were really action packed but the middle of the book was really boring and took me awhile to get through. I personally wished that there was more action because I felt that the novel focused quite a lot on the romance. The world building, however, was really amazing and I definitely loved that aspect!
As for the characters, I really liked Britta, who is our main character, because she’s very strong and she’s a fighter. She did remind me of Katniss from The Hunger Games because they’re both hunters. I also really liked Leif who is a side character in the novel and I really hope we get to see more of him in the next book 🙂 As for Cohen is another main character, I’m not sure if I like his character to be honest. Hopefully I’ll like him more in the next book!
 The romance was really sweet at times but to be honest, I found myself not caring much about it and I mainly just wanted more action. I personally didn’t see much chemistry between the two lovers and I wished that Britta ended up with one of the other characters instead.
hong
Though Ever The Hunted didn’t meet up to my expectations, I’m positive that many of you would still enjoy it more than I did! I would definitely recommend this novel if you’re looking for a solid YA fantasy novel with great world building and an interesting magic system.  This novel comes out on 27th December so definitely pick up a copy for yourself if you’re interested 🙂 I hope you all enjoyed my review and I will see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

2 thoughts on “{ Book Review } – Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill

Leave a Reply

