Book Reviews

Fantastic Beasts Movie / Screenplay Review!!

IMG_2635.jpg

Hello everyone! As you all may know, the Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them movie and screenplay was released last week and of course, I just had to watch the movie and pick up the screenplay 🙂 I watched the movie with my boyfriend on Tuesday and read the screenplay the day after so I thought, why not do a spoiler free movie / screenplay review for you all?!

IMG_9763.jpg

If you haven’t heard of Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them, it is originally a textbook written by Newt Scamander about the magical creatures in the Harry Potter universe. In the movie and screenplay, the story takes place in the 1920s and it follows the journey of Newt Scamander, a famous Magizoologist. Newt arrives in New York City for a short trip but when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it starts causing havoc for everyone.

IMG_2636.jpg

I guess I’ll start off by saying the movie  was absolutely AMAZING!!! It was as magical as the Harry Potter movies and the feeling of just being back in this wizarding world gave me so much feels and brought back lots of nostalgia. As the screenplay is the script for the movie, I felt the same way about it as the movie! It had a magical feeling to it and I loved every single second of reading it. Throughout the movie, we firstly get to learn about what the wizarding community and magic was like in the 1920s, particular in America. Magic was actually pretty different during this era and they are very strict about the exposure of magic in America. Another thing I loved was the different creatures that we are introduced to in the story! Newt has a briefcase full of unique and awesome creatures and seeing how much love he has for them just warms my heart 🙂 My favourite creature is definitely The Niffler because it is SO ADORABLE AND FLUFFY AND HILARIOUS.
As for the characters, I pretty much love all of them! Our four main characters Newt, Tina, Queenie and Jacob are such fun characters and they work really well as a team. They all have such wonderful personalities and I honestly feel that the actors chosen to play their roles were perfect. With that said, I did have one tiny issue with the general story and that is the lack of action. The action only came at the end and it wasn’t that suspenseful so it was a little disappointing but apart from that, the movie was great!

hong

Overall, I would highly recommend you all to go catch the Fantastic Beasts movie if you haven’t and read the screenplay as well! I cannot wait for the next 4 instalments to the movie series as I’m sure they’ll be equally as amazing. Thank you for reading my review and I’ll see you in my next post, bye! ❤
Buy the screenplay here :
Book Depository – https://www.bookdepository.com/Fantastic-Beasts-and-Where-to-Find-Them/9781408708989
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Fantastic-Beasts-Where-Find-Them/dp/1338109065/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1480002562&sr=1-1&keywords=fantastic+beasts+and+where+to+find+them

img_6579

 

10 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts Movie / Screenplay Review!!

  1. The Niffler was so cute! Can I buy a soft toy of a Niffler? Can it have a cute little pouch that’s almost invisible to hide things in? OMG I need one of these! The bowtruckle was so cute and when they stuck their little tongue out I just started laughing and awwwing just gaaah!
    I loved the movie, I didn’t know that it was going to be in 3D so I saw it in 2D the first time and I’m going to re-watch it in 3D. I made a post about the movie on my own blog if you’d like to see my thoughts in a less “omg so cute i’m dying” kind of way
    I want to get the script because 1. It’s beautiful 2. I want to memorise the entire thing because it’s a work of art!

    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! the Niffler is also my favorite creature, way too cute & a handful! I LOVED the movie🙌🏼SOooO much that the same night I came home & ordered the screenplay. Also looking forward to the rest of the movies coming out, these characters were all great & the movie gave me back a piece of a world I’ve missed so much! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post!
    I am so excited to see the movie! I think it will be wonderful to get back into the wizarding world, it has been so long! I will have to get the screenplay too now after reading this post! (I thought about it before, but now I know that I must get it!) thanks again for the great review!
    Kim @ http://www.booksarelove22.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw man, I just cannot get over how much I enjoyed the movie! I haven’t got a copy of the screenplay yet but I’m sure I’ll pick up one in the future. I loved Kowalski’s character too! (Particularly in the part when they’re both covered in jewels and he’s like ‘They went that way, officer’, I died laughing). Such a successful movie and I cannot WAIT for the next one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

