Recommendations · Uncategorized

Contemporary Novels That I Want To Read!

IMG_0831.jpg
Hello bookworms! Recently, I’ve been in a contemporary novel phase which is really weird for me because YA contemporary isn’t a genre that I usually read. I am happy nonetheless that I’m slowly getting into this genre and I’ve been reading great contemporary novels lately 🙂
Today, I thought I would talk about some contemporary novels that I want to read soon and maybe this will give you some contemporary book recommendations as well. If you’re interested in checking out any of the books, just click on the book title and it will direct you to the Goodreads page. Let’s get started!
IMG_0404.jpg
1. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
After reading The Sun Is Also A Star, I knew that I had to pick up Everything Everything! This follows our main character, Madeline, who is allergic to everything and has never left her house. One day, this boy named Olly and his family moves in next door and the story starts off there 🙂 I’ve heard that this is an adorable book and I like that it has mental illness aspects in it too. Very excited to read this!
IMG_0405.jpg
2. Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett
I was sent an ARC of Everyone We’ve Been by Sarah Everett and from the synopsis, this seems like a deeper contemporary / mystery novel! I probably won’t do much justice if I try to summarise the synopsis so definitely check it out on Goodreads, but the synopsis sounds super intriguing and I hope to get to this book next month.
IMG_0406.jpg
3. Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Girl In Pieces is another deeper, darker contemporary novel and it deals with topics such as depression, self harm, suicide and many more. It is also a heartbreaking story about survival and trying to piece yourself back together. As the topics mentioned are very personal to me, I’m not sure when I will get to this because I need to be in the right mindset to read this but I’ll definitely do a review when I get to it!
IMG_0407.jpg
4. Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda 
I’m sure most of you have heard / read Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda as it is so hyped in the book community and I’m probably the last person to read it. This book seems really cute, funny and it has LGBTQ+ aspects to it! I’ve actually only read one other book with a gay main character ( Aristotle and Dante ) so I’m super pumped to read another one 😀
IMG_0408.jpg
5. Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton 
Tiny Pretty Things is a contemporary / mystery novel following three ballerinas who are fighting to be the best and of course, things are looking very ugly. I’ve heard really great things about Tiny Pretty Things and I love that it has a cast of diverse characters and it deals with mental health issues as well. If you love books with lots of drama and backstabbing, definitely check this one out!
IMG_0409.jpg
6. The Female Of The Species by Mindy McGinnis 
The Female Of The Species is another highly praised contemporary / mystery novel! I’m not exactly sure what the synopsis is about but if you’re planning to pick this book up, know that there are some very heavy topics discussed in TFOTS such as exploring rape culture, sexual assault, slut-shaming and animal abuse. However, it also has topics such as first love and coming of age. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this book and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all.
IMG_0410.jpg
7. American Girls by Alison Umminger
American Girls is a novel that I recently discovered and I thought I would share with you guys the synopsis here because it really hooked me!
She was looking for a place to land.

Anna is a fifteen-year-old girl slouching toward adulthood, and she’s had it with her life at home. So Anna “borrows” her stepmom’s credit card an runs away to Los Angeles, where her half-sister takes her in. But LA isn’t quite the glamorous escape Anna had imagined.

As Anna spends her days on TV and movie sets, she engrosses herself in a project researching the murderous Manson girls—and although the violence in her own life isn’t the kind that leaves physical scars, she begins to notice the parallels between herself and the lost girls of LA, and of America, past and present.

In Anna’s singular voice, we glimpse not only a picture of life on the B-list in LA, but also a clear-eyed reflection on being young, vulnerable, lost, and female in America—in short, on the B-list of life. Alison Umminger writes about girls, sex, violence, and which people society deems worthy of caring about, which ones it doesn’t, in a way not often seen in YA fiction.

It just sounds like it’s going to be a really great coming-of-age novel and I hope to pick up a copy for myself soon!
img_0411
8. When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie Mclemore
Lastly, we have When The Moon Was Ours! This is a YA fantasy / magical realism novel and I’m super excited to pick up a copy because I’ve heard that it’s a very beautiful diverse story that has topics such as gender identity and culture. Plus, it has a super pretty cover!
hong
Those are the contemporary novels that I hope to read in the near future! I hope you all enjoyed this post and if you have any contemporary novel recommendations, let me know in the comments as I definitely want to discover more novels in this genre 🙂 Thank you for reading and see you in my next post!

img_6579

 

 

23 thoughts on “Contemporary Novels That I Want To Read!

  1. They all sound awesome! My TBR is gonna get bigger…haha. I found your blog through your bookstagram account btw; you take super gorgeous pictures! Can’t wait to explore more of your blog and reviews 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tiny Pretty Things, Simon & Girl In Pieces is on my TBR too 💖 That cover of Everyone We’ve Been is so pretty, definitely going to check that out 😘 The only book I’ve read on here is Everything, Everything and it was okay. If you love cute contemporary romance, then you’ll definitely love it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been in need of so many contemporaries lately and I have no idea why but all these books are on my TBR as well! I especially want to read The Female of the Species so badly! It dealing with the tough issues, I hope it does it well and in a way that is really suitable – I have high hopes it will! I hope you enjoy ALL your reads and I can’t wait to hear what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

