Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

IMG_9867.jpg

Happy weekend! Today, I’ll be reviewing Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland. Our Chemical Hearts is a YA contemporary novel and I overall did enjoy it but I had a couple of problems. Also, this review will not contain spoilers! Without further ado, let’s get started with the review ❤
Release date : 4 October 2016
Published by : G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Synopsis :
John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.
Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.
Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn’t your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland’s brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.
My rating : ♥♥♥.75 / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
AVAILABLE AT ALL MAJOR BOOKSTORES
Book Depository – http://www.bookdepository.com/Our-Chemical-Hearts-Krystal-Sutherland/9780143573906
Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Our-Chemical-Hearts-Krystal-Sutherland/dp/0399546561/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1479281918&sr=1-1&keywords=our+chemical+hearts

IMG_5528.jpg

( Disclaimer : I was sent a copy of Our Chemical Hearts for review from Pansing Books. All opinions stated are my own ) 
I’ve been in a huge contemporary kick lately so I decided to pick up Our Chemical Hearts! Though it wasn’t the most unique contemporary I’ve read, I still really enjoyed it. Starting off with the storyline, it wasn’t anything fantastic. It was good but I felt that I’ve read this sort of story before. Our Chemical Hearts has a pretty flat storyline and some parts were predictable. However, the story was still gripping and it was actually very heartbreaking. It is still a contemporary but it is darker as it deals with topics such as grief.  The story was also beautifully written but the only problem I had with the writing style was that it felt too much like a John Green and Rainbow Rowell novel. The blurb did say that this was perfect for fans of their novels but I wish it were more original. I feel that if the story had a bigger twist to it and the writing style was different, I would’ve given it a higher rating!
Though the storyline kind of fell flat for me, I really enjoyed the characters. Henry and Grace are just such unique characters in their own way and you really get to see how they grow and learn together. It was very refreshing to see such a unique bunch of characters in Our Chemical Hearts. By the end of the book, they both found themselves and through them, I actually learnt a lot about love and life. This book also focused on friendship and family which I really appreciated! Family and friends both played an important part in the story and I like that apart from the romance, this was also one of the main focus 🙂
hong
Overall, you all should still give this novel a try if you’re looking for a good contemporary! If you guys have read it, let me know your thoughts in the comments as I would love to discuss the novel with you 🙂 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

 

3 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

  1. Interesting!! I gave this book 5 stars, I adored it! I don’t usually read contemporary, but this book made me laugh aloud and I thoroughly enjoyed the characters! I didn’t even realise that the plot was a little predictable or possibly slow, like you mentioned, because I was so invested in Henry and his friends. Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your review! The plot/storyline doesn’t get me too excited but hearing about how lovely the characters are definitely does! You have completely sold me the way your PERFEXTION WRITING ALWAYS DOES! 😉 I think I prefer amazing characters and average plot over seemingly great storyline and very average and bland characters – I just fall in love a lot more the first way! Again, great review as always! 🙂 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

