Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

img_4648
Hello bookworms! I’m back today with another book review and I will be reviewing Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco 🙂 Stalking Jack The Ripper is Kerri’s debut novel and it was such an amazing and creepy book!! I’m excited to be sharing my thoughts about the novel with you so without further ado, let’s get started.
Release date : 20 September 2016 
Published by : Jimmy Patterson 
Synopsis :
Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.
Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.
My rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → http://www.bookdepository.com/Stalking-Jack-the-Ripper-Kerri-Maniscalco-James-Patterson/9780316273497?ref=grid-view
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Stalking-Jack-Ripper-Kerri-Maniscalco/dp/031627349X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477229393&sr=1-1&keywords=stalking+jack+the+ripper
” He murdered women in cold blood. He terrorized an entire city. He taunted those of us who hunted him down. But despite all these horrors, in the end, I could not deny it… I was the girl who loved The Ripper. ” 
This blurb was at the back of the novel and once I read it, I knew immediately that this would be a five star read and I was right! 🙂 It is the author’s first novel but she did an amazing job with the overall storyline and I felt that everything pieced together very nicely. I loved that the storyline kept you in suspense and there was so much mystery and big twists which I did predict but it was still mind-blowing. The atmosphere of the novel was dark and mysterious which was so perfect for this Halloween season and if you add in the beautiful writing style, Stalking Jack The Ripper is pretty much a perfect novel.
“I was determined to be both pretty and fierce, as Mother had said I could be. Just because I was interested in a man’s job didn’t mean I had to give up being girly. Who defined those roles anyhow?”
Stalking Jack The Ripper was set in Victorian London and it was very interesting to see what people were like during that time period. During that time period, there were certain standards that society had regarding women, for example, they have to be prim and proper and ladylike. I liked how our main character went against those standards and continued to do what she loved.
“My heart raced. Part of me wanted to draw him into a hug and heal his wounds, and part of me wished to ferret out all his secrets and piece the puzzle of him together this instant.”
As for the characters, they were all very complex and interesting! Our two main characters, Audrey and Thomas, are such wonderful characters and I loved the chemistry between them. The romance was also very well developed and it was adorable as well 🙂
hong
That’s all for my review and I hope you all enjoyed it! Do support Kerri and pick up a copy of Stalking Jack The Ripper, I promise you all will love this deliciously twisting and captivating novel. Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

Leave a Reply

