Book Hauls + Wrap Ups

SPOOKtober ’16 BOOk Haul + Wrap Up

img_6471
Hi everyone! How has your week been? The weekend is finally here and I thought, what better way to kick start the weekend than to upload my October book haul & wrap up?! ❤
October, as a whole, wasn’t the greatest month for me. I was stressed out over starting a new job, one of my dearest hamsters sadly passed away and I was dealing with some health issues as well. However, I am very thankful for the love and encouragement that my family and friends have gave to me 🙂 I bought / received a total of 8 books and 3 graphic novels this month, and I read 9 books! Without further ado, let’s get started.
IMG_6469.jpg
Books I Got 
1. Vassa In The Night by Sarah Porter
2. Captive Prince by C.S Pacat
3. Simon VS The Homo Sapien’s Agenda by Becky Albertalli
4. The Female Of The Species by Mindy McGinnis
5. Saga Volume 2 by Brian K Vaughn & Fiona Staples
6. Saga Volume 3 by Brian K Vaughn & Fiona Staples
7. Saga Volume 4 by Brian K Vaughn & Fiona Staples
8. Kids Of Appetite by David Arnold
9. The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes ( eARC )
10. The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon ( ARC )
11. The Reader by Traci Chee ( Library ) 
IMG_6468.jpg
Books I Read
1. Amulet Book 2 by Kazu Kibuishi
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Started off the month with a graphic novel and I really enjoyed Amulet Book 2! It was a very quick and fun graphic novel and I cannot wait to continue the rest of the series.
2. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
BEHOLD, ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I READ IN 2016!! Crooked Kingdom is the second and final book in the Six Of Crows duology and I can’t even tell you how amazing this conclusion was. I loved everything about this book and if you’re interested in seeing my thoughts on this duology, check out my review HERE !
3. Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I rarely read contemporaries but Holding Up The Universe helped me to get back into that genre 🙂 It was so addictive and I really loved the premise and the characters. Once again, I have a full review up so click HERE to check it out.
4. Saga Volume 1 by Brian K Vaughn & Fiona Staples
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I finally picked up Saga Volume 1 because I’ve been hearing such amazing things about this graphic novel series and it definitely did not disappoint! It was such a weird yet addicting graphic novel and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.
5. Empire Of Storms by Sarah J Maas
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
BEHOLD, ANOTHER BOOK THAT MADE IT TO MY TOP FAVOURITES OF 2016!! Empire Of Storms is the fifth instalment to the Throne Of Glass series and IT BROKE MY HEART. It also put me in a massive reading slump. I also have a review of this book which you can check out HERE 🙂
29749200.jpg
6. The Ugly Teapot by Fred Holmes
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I was sent an eARC of The Ugly Teapot by the author ( big thanks!! ) and I actually really enjoyed it 🙂 It was very quick and fun read with lots of adventure. I did a mini review on my Goodreads and I will link it HERE. I would definitely recommend all of you to go support the author and check this book out!
7. Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
We finally get to a creepy book that I read specifically because it was perfect for the Halloween season. Stalking Jack The Ripper is Kerri’s debut novel and WOW it was amazing. It was creepy, romantic and full of twists. Definitely go check this book out as well!
8. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
It Ends With Us is my third Colleen Hoover novel and even though this was a contemporary novel, it was really dark as well. It dealt with very heavy topics and it was a very eye opening and haunting read. Of course, I had to review this novel and so you can click HERE to read it!
9. The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I ended off the month with The Sun Is Also A Star! I’m super thankful to have received an ARC of this from the publisher and I absolutely adored it. I loved the characters and the romance, and I also loved the diversity present in this novel 🙂 You all should definitely 101% pick up this wonderful novel and you can check out my review HERE !
hong
That concludes my October book haul & wrap up! Do let me know in the comments what are some of the books you bought and read in October and if you’ve read any of the books I’ve mentioned above 🙂 Have a lovely weekend and I will see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

8 thoughts on “SPOOKtober ’16 BOOk Haul + Wrap Up

  1. Looks like you had an AWESOME reading month! I read Empire of Storms (THE FEELS THE FEELS) and I loved it! I can’t wait for the last book in the series – I’ve really grown attached to the world and the characters!

    I’m thinking of starting Six of Crows cause I see so many good reviews on it and knowing that you’ve read it – do you think it’s necessary to read the Grisha trilogy before starting Six of Crows? Cause I heard they’re set in the same world and that Crooked Kingdom especially features things from the Grisha trilogy.

    Here’s to November being just as amazing as October was reading-wise!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES THE FEEEELSSSSS. Hmm.. I think you should read The Grisha Trilogy first because it will give you more background of the grishaverse ( so you won’t be confused in SoC ) and there are also some spoilers for The Grisha Trilogy in SoC!

      Like

Leave a Reply

