Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

IMG_5925.jpg
Hello everyone, hope you all had a lovely weekend! Today is the release of The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon, aka the cutest contemporary I’ve read this year, so I thought this would be the perfect time to share my review with you all 🙂 I was sent an ARC of this book from Penguin Random House ( big thanks to them! ) in exchange for an honest review and I can honestly say that I absolutely loved it. This review will be spoiler free so I hope you all will enjoy my review!
Release date : 1 November 2016
Published by : Delacorte Press
Synopsis :
Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.
Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.
The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?
My rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Sun-Is-Also-Star-Nicol-Yoon/9780553496680?ref=grid-view
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Sun-Also-Star-Nicola-Yoon/dp/0553496689/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477836334&sr=1-1&keywords=the+sun+is+also+a+star
IMG_4777.jpg
The Sun Is Also A Star deserves a billion beautiful stars. It was a wonderful contemporary novel that was so adorable, sad at times and very thought provoking. Starting with the plot, the story actually takes place over 12 hours but I liked that the story didn’t feel very rushed and everything took it’s own time to develop. The story was so beautiful and even though it was a YA contemporary, it was a very thought provoking book. It is also a rather quick read and you’ll find yourself flying through the story. This is the first Nicola Yoon novel that I read and I really love her writing style, it’s so poetic. As Daniel is Korean and Natasha is Jamaican, we get to learn a lot about the two cultures. The Sun Is Also A Star talks about topics such as being deported, discrimination and racism which are situations that people still face. I also loved that this story came from Nicola’s personal experience because it made me feel a connection to the story.
Another thing I loved about the novel was that we got to see how the characters impacted different people that they meet. We got many different POVs from random strangers that notice Natasha and Daniel and we also got POVs from their parents which gave us more background of the family dynamics. It’s just so wonderful to see how these two characters could impact the lives of people so much within those 12 hours. I also really loved the family aspects. Even though none of the families are perfect, they still learn acceptance and they grow together throughout the book.
As for the romance, there was a tad bit of insta-love considering they only have 12 hours together but the romance still took it’s time to develop and it was really heartwarming, sad but still adorable. The couple did experience discrimination / racism because people found it weird for a Jamaican and Korean to date but they ignored it and went out and showed the world that they were in love.
Our two main characters were so wonderful and I loved following their journey through each of their point of views. Natasha is very logical and wise, and she is very strong. She does all she can to try to help her family. She’s not a dreamer and instead, she believes in science and facts. Natasha is a very interesting character and she impacted so many people in this novel. Daniel, on the other hand, is a dreamer. However, he is always trapped by his parents who have high expectations of him. Daniel is a hilarious, dorky and cute character and through him, we learn more about the Korean culture.
hong
Overall, I would highly recommend everyone to pick up The Sun Is Also A Star 🙂 It’s a beautiful story about first love, struggles and family and I promise that you won’t regret reading it! I hope you all enjoyed this review and I will see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

One thought on “{ Book Review } : The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

