Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

IMG_4678.jpg
Hi everyone! Today I am back with another book review and I’m going to be reviewing It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. This is Colleen Hoover’s newest novel and I absolutely loved it. It was dark and heart wrenching but it was also beautiful and hopeful. This review will be spoiler free so I hope you all enjoy it!
Release date : 2 August 2016
Published by : Atria Books
Synopsis :
Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.
Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.
With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.
My rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → https://www.bookdepository.com/It-Ends-with-Us/9781471156267
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Ends-Us-Novel-Colleen-Hoover/dp/1501110365/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1477236753&sr=1-1&keywords=it+ends+with+us
IMG_3694.jpg
( Trigger Warning : Book deals with topics such as domestic abuse and rape )
It Ends With Us may be a new adult contemporary novel, but it was a very dark novel. Reading this book was very difficult because it dealt with heavy topics that I was not expecting and it was also a very heart wrenching novel. It was still a very important read and it’s probably one of the most powerful novels I’ve read in 2016.
“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”
As all of Colleen Hoover’s books are, the story flowed very nicely and I very much enjoyed the journey that we went through with the characters ( primarily the main character ). We got to experience the happy, sad, painful and funny moments that they went through and it made the story very real. It Ends With Us dealt with heavy topics such rape and abuse and I felt that the author handled both topics very well. Yes, this is a fictional book but the situations that some of the characters were put through are situations that people still face in society nowadays. Reading the scenes with the abuse were very difficult to get through. I couldn’t relate to it but it just felt real. I felt actual fear for the characters that were experiencing it and I don’t think I can ever forget it. Colleen was very brave in stepping out and writing this novel that opened the eyes of many.
Though it was a very emotional and dark read, it was also very hopeful. It Ends With Us showed us that sometimes we just need to gather all our courage and leave situations that are unhealthy or hurtful because our happiness and well-being is always the most important thing. It teaches us to ” just keep swimming ” and to never lose hope. It also shows us how difficult it is for people who are being abused to leave because sometimes there are just circumstances that make them want to stay even though they are getting hurt 😦 I really really loved the ending and it was how I wanted the novel to conclude. I was practically crying at the end because it was just very bittersweet.
“I’ll keep pretending to swim, when really all I’m doing is floating. Barely keeping my head above water.”
Our main character, Lily, is a very strong and brave woman. She had a very very traumatising and rough childhood but that didn’t stop her from working hard to build a life for herself. She is a flawed character but that was what made her felt real. There were times where I wanted to just shake her and tell her to leave the situations that were harmful to her and there were also times where I wanted to hug her and cry with her and tell her that everything is going to be okay. Throughout the book, she learnt how to stand up for herself and she learnt how to walk away even though it was very difficult for her. Standing up for herself, especially in the situation she was put in, took a lot of courage to do so but I’m very proud of her.
“Just because we didn’t end up on the same wave, doesn’t mean we aren’t still a part of the same ocean.”
In the novel, Lily has two love interests, Ryle and Atlas. I was very wary of Ryle’s character from the the start because he just seemed too good to be true and the relationship between him and Lily developed too quickly. There were times he treated Lily like a princess and there were times where he was terrible to her, and I don’t think I can ever forgive him for what he did. As for Atlas, he didn’t have an easy life. He had a very difficult and sad childhood but he also never gave up and he worked hard. He is very caring and he has a lot of compassion for Lily. I loved reading about the backstory regarding their romance in the past and I just want to give him a hug because he is such a wonderful character ❤
I know this review is already super long but the last things I want to talk about are the relationships Lily has with her mother and Alyssa. Lily and her mother may have had a very distant relationship but I loved seeing them becoming closer together and I loved that Lily was brave to confide in her mother and share everything that has been happening. Alyssa is Ryle’s sister, an employee in Lily’s flower shop and Lily’s best friend. Both of them have a very close, open and trusting relationship and I just really enjoy books that not only focuses on the romance but focuses on friendships too.
hong
Overall, I would highly recommend everyone to pick up this novel as I feel it’s a very important and eye opening read. It’s a beautiful novel that will stay in your heart forever. I hope you all enjoyed this review and I will see you in my next post, bye!

 

img_6579

2 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

