Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Empire Of Storms by Sarah J Maas

img_3543
Hi everyone! Today I’m going to be reviewing Empire Of Storms by Sarah J Maas, aka the book that once again smashed my heart into a million pieces. If you didn’t already know, Empire Of Storms is the fifth instalment in the Throne Of Glass series and I absolutely loved it. It exceeded all of my expectations and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all. Also, this review will contain spoilers! Let’s get started! 🙂
Release date : 6 September 2016 
Published by : Bloomsbury 
Synopsis : 
The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → https://www.bookdepository.com/Empire-of-Storms/9781619636071
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Empire-Storms-Throne-Glass-Sarah/dp/1619636077/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1476883778&sr=1-1&keywords=empire+of+storms
img_1658
If I could describe the plot for Empire Of Storms in three words, it would be action-packed, sexy and gripping. Going into the book, it’s definitely normal to be intimidated by it because it’s a really big book but trust me when I say that you will actually fly through the story quickly! There are of course some moments where it’s slower paced because the gang are trying to get allies, get supplies and just plan what their next move will be but most for the most part, the plot is full of action and there are also a couple of super steamy scenes 😉 Although some parts of the story were slow, it didn’t feel draggy. The battle / action scenes were SO AMAZING and it was like watching a movie in your head. It kept me off my seat, it made my heart pound and I kept putting the book down halfway because I was so scared that something bad was going to happen.
Apart from the amazing storyline, I personally felt that Empire Of Storms was very character driven. There were a fair bit of new characters introduced and new friendships were developed. The characters that we know and love are still as amazing as they were in the previous books and I love that they are always developing into stronger and more powerful beings as the series progress. Apart from seeing POV’s from the usual characters ( Aelin, Dorian, Aedion, Rowan, Manon etc. ), we got to see POV’s from newer characters such as Elide and Lorcan. I’m honestly not the biggest fan of Elide and Lorcan’s characters but one of my favourite part about Elide’s chapters was when she got her period because it shows that she’s a normal human and she’s just like us.
One character that I really loved in Empire Of Storms was Manon!! Manon went through so much character development, it was honestly amazing. The best scene with her was the battle between her and her grandmother. I loved how she was standing up against her grandmother and fighting to defend her clan 🙂 I also enjoyed seeing Manon and Aelin work together! Both of them are very powerful women in the series and it’s really nice to see them work together.
Lastly, let’s talk about ALL OF THE ROMANCE. So, there are 4 main couples in the book. Aelin and Rowan, Aedion and Lysandra, Elide and Lorcan and Dorian and Manon. I love al of the couples but my favourite couple would have to be Dorian and Manon ❤ I don’t know how many people actually ship them together but I have been rooting for them ever since Queen Of Shadows! They’re just such a unique couple and I can’t wait to see their relationship develop further. Aelin and Rowan also have a very powerful relationship in Empire Of Storms. I feel that the most impactful scene of their relationship was when Aelin was taken by Maeve and Rowan goes ” Where’s my wife? “, it just really got to me and it broke my heart. Apart from that, I’m loving all the different relationships and I can’t wait to see more of it in the next book!
hong
That concludes my review of Empire Of Storms by Sarah J Maas! I hope you all enjoyed it and if you’ve read the book, feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comments 🙂 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

 

Leave a Reply

