Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Six Of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

img_0948

Happy weekend everyone! Today’s post is really exciting because I’m going to be reviewing the Six Of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo 🙂 This is a YA fantasy duology and it is honestly my favourite duology of all time. It is action-packed, epic, adventurous, has an amazing cast of characters and I can’t wait to review it for you all. Just a warning, this review will contain mild spoilers. Without further ado, let’s get started!
ctm8fzhumaanacc
[ SIX OF CROWS ] 
Release Date :  29 September 2016
Published by : Henry Holt & Company 
Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy 
Synopsis :
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.
Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
” No mourners, no funerals ” 
Six Of Crows was a foundation for the duology and thus, there is a lot of introduction to the characters and to the world. It follows Kaz Brekker who is a criminal prodigy is asked to go on a quest and is offered a large sum of money in return for rescuing someone. Needing help, Kaz rounds up his kickass group of friends whom call themselves ‘ The Dregs ‘ and they go on the quest together. You may think, ” Oh, it’s just a quest. How special can it be? “, but that’s literally not the case. Not only does the book focus on the quest and the adventure, but the storyline is dark and super kickass. It was very well paced and we are able to really immerse ourselves in this awesome storyline. For the world-building, the book still takes place in the same world as The Grisha Trilogy but it mostly takes place in another city called Ketterdam. I’m glad that we were introduced to another place in the map and the world building was overall beautiful!
The characters were definitely my favourite part about the whole novel. There are quite a number of characters that we are introduced to but trust me when I say that you won’t be confused! Kaz, Inej, Jesper, Wylan, Nina and Matthias are all such badass characters and it makes me wish I was part of their crew 🙂 Though they all have very distinct personalities, they work very well as a team and I love the friendships between them.
Of course, the romance in this book was A-MA-ZING. First, we have Kaz & Inej who is my new OTP. They romance between them is just so strong but they don’t actually show it much in Six Of Crows, which is so torturing. Next, Jesper & Wylan who are my sweet angels. They are seriously the cutest ever and I just want to hug both of them. Lastly, Nina and Matthias! Their relationship was very complicated at the start but I loved the development in their relationship and they make a really good couple.
Overall, Six Of Crows was a really wonderful and strong start to the duology! Now let’s move on to one of my favourites of the year, Crooked Kingdom!!!
ctmcgrruaaars0y
[ CROOKED KINGDOM ] 
Release Date : 27 September 2016
Published by : Henry Holt & Company 
Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy 
Synopsis :
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
“I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”
I don’t even know where to begin for Crooked Kingdom. It was one of the best books I read this year because it was even more epic and badass than Six Of Crows but it was also one of the most heartbreaking books I read 😦
The story follows the aftermath of what happened in Six Of Crows and the dregs are back once again kicking butt and ending things with the main antagonist once end for all. As this is the second and final book in this duology, you get to see more of the backstories of our beloved characters and you also get to see the way each of their relationships with each other develop. There was a lot of plotting in this novel which I actually really liked because I just love seeing the thought process behind each masterplan. The action scenes were so crazy and there were points in the book where I was just holding my breath because I was so scared of what was going to happen.
The different character developments were seriously on point in Crooked Kingdom. They grew so much stronger in Crooked Kingdom and what I loved was seeing more of some of their backstories! Reading about what happened in their lives before the events of SoC made me feel like I had a special connection to them and it added a really nice touch to the story. There were also many developments in terms of relationships and the romance in the novel gave me SO MUCH FEELS ❤
My favourite part about this book was definitely  the ending. The ending was both heartbreaking and bittersweet. Heartbreaking because as confirmed by the author, one or more of the dregs will die and I won’t mention who died but I cried like a baby and it was a really emotional scene. The ending was bittersweet because eventually, all the dregs left were moving on and they were happy. That was what I wanted to see in the ending, all of them happy, safe and hopeful for the future that was ahead of them. It was definitely really sad to say goodbye to this wonderful story and characters but overall, it was a beautiful end to this duology and I wouldn’t want to change a single bit of it.
hong
I hope that my review convinced you to read this duology if you have not!! If you love darker fantasy with lots of characters, friendship, kickass action, slower brewing romance then I would 100% recommend you picking this duology up 🙂 Thank you so much for reading this review and I will see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

Leave a Reply

