Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday : Books That Took You The Longest To Finish ( 05/10/16 )

img_0478
It’s Wednesday so you know what that means…. It’s Top 5 Wednesday time!! 🙂
Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Samantha from ThoughtsOnTomes, I will be linking both their channels as well as the T5W Goodreads group down below. To kick off the month of October, the topic for this week is ” Books That Took You The Longest To Finish ” so let’s get started!
Lainey’s channel : https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey
Sam’s channel : https://www.youtube.com/user/ThoughtsOnTomes
T5W Goodreads group : https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday
img_0477
1. Heir Of Fire by Sarah J Maas
Amongst all the five books I’ve listed, Heir Of Fire took me the longest to finish. It literally took me more than half a year to finally complete it. I know that most people did enjoy this book but to be honest, this is my least favourite book in the whole series. Though we were introduced to many new characters and the ending made up for it, it was a little draggy and there was too much dialogue. Overall, the whole story was dry but I’m proud of myself for getting through it!
2. The Blood Of Olympus by Rick Riordan
This is the fifth and final instalment in the Heroes of Olympus series and this book took me a long time to finish because firstly, it’s a rather large book. Secondly, I loved this series so much and I did not want it to end 😦
3. A Book Of Sprits And Thieves by Morgan Rhodes 
This is the first book in the spin-off series to the Falling Kingdoms series and as much as I loved Falling Kingdoms, I couldn’t get into this book and thus it took me awhile to get through it. If you’re interested in hearing more about my thoughts on it, you can check out my review HERE !
4. The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry 
This is a YA contemporary novel and it was just painful for me to even get through this book. The plot and characters were just alright, I hated the insta-love in this novel and I scanned through the last forty pages of the book.
5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 
Don’t get me wrong, I really loved The Raven Boys! However, it did take me awhile to finish it because the middle part of the novel was really slow and nothing much was happening. I almost DNF’ed the novel but the ending picked up 🙂
hong
That is all for today’s Top 5 Wednesday post and I hope you all enjoyed it! Do let me know in the comments what books you took the longest to finish as I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye! ❤

img_6579

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Books That Took You The Longest To Finish ( 05/10/16 )

  1. I love the Raven Cycle but it took me a long time to read as well! Great read but slow! I haven’t read A Book of Spirits and Thieves yet, although I love Falling Kingdoms – it just doesn’t appeal to me as much. I picked it up once but never really got into it.
    Here’s our Top 5

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah yes, the raven boys! I started it a little over three months ago and I still haven’t finished it . . . For some reason, I’ve bought the first three books of the series? No idea why since I have barely started the first one, one of the downsides of great sales I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had to put Heir of Fire on hold. I find it boring. It’s been sitting on my side table for almost 6months now and I know i have to pick it up eventually.

    Like

  4. I really loved The Raven Boys as well and while I zipped through the first 2 books I still have the last 2 sitting on my shelves so the series is taking me a long time to finish, haha!
    I have Throne of Glass on my list this week since that one took me a while to finish it and I have yet to continue the series, not really looking forward to Heir of Fire hearing you talk about it haha.
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed The Raven Boys but I read the first third or so of The Dream Thieves and then stopped; the book has been sitting by my bed for a couple months. I guess I just wasn’t in the mood to try binge reading the series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

