Others

#DiverseAThon Wrap-Up!

 

img_7797
Hello everyone! Today I’m going to be wrapping up the books that I read for the #DiverseAThon which ended on Monday. If you haven’t heard of the #DiverseAThon, you can check out my previous post HERE where I talked more about the readathon and I also listed out my TBR 🙂 I’m really happy to have taken part in this readathon because I got to learn more about why diversity is so important and needed in society, pick up some really amazing diverse books, and I also got so many diverse books recommendations. Out of the five books I chose for my TBR, I read three of them. Let’s get started with the review! 😀

img_7808

1. Gotham Academy Vol 1 : Welcome To Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher & Karl Kerschl
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I chose Gotham Academy for the #DiverseAThon because it featured a range of diverse characters. This was a really fun and quick read, and the characters were so spunky and awesome 🙂 I hope to pick up Volume 2 soon!

img_7806

2. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury 
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
The Forbidden Wish is a gender-swapped retelling of Aladdin and I really enjoyed it! Jessica Khoury has such a beautiful writing style. The book was fast paced and I absolutely loved the ” Forbidden Love ” concept that was present. There was a tad bit of insta love but it didn’t bother it as much. I would definitely recommend The Forbidden Wish to any of you who love the story of Aladdin or just retellings in general.

img_7807

3. Sula’s Voyage by Catherine Torres 
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
The last book I read was Sula’s Voyage by Catherine Torres! I was sent this for review by the author and it was honestly a wonderful book. This book featured our diverse main character, Sula, who has always felt that she didn’t belong because of her dark skin It dealt with topics like racism, discrimination and self discovery and it really shows us the kind of discrimination that people with darker skin deal with, even in society nowadays. The whole book was really well written and I will have a full review up on my blog soon ❤
hong.png
That concludes my wrap-up and I hope you all enjoyed this post! If you took part in the #DiverseAThon, do let me know in the comments if you enjoyed it and what books you read. If you have any diverse books recommendations, do let me know in the comments as I’m looking for some recs 🙂 Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

 

6 thoughts on “#DiverseAThon Wrap-Up!

  1. Absolutely loved the #DiverseAThon! I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon! I gave been wanting to read The Forbidden Wish, I am glad you liked it!! Also all your pictures are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

