Book Reviews

{ Book Review + Discussion } : Queen Of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

img_7526
Happy Monday! Hope you all had a great weekend 🙂 Today’s post is going to my review of Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas. This is the fourth instalment in the Throne of Glass series and I absolutely loved this book. Going into Queen of Shadows, I was sceptical about whether or not I would like it because I wasn’t the biggest fan of Heir Of Fire, plus Queen of Shadows really intimidated me because it’s a ginormous book but I ended up really loving it ❤  I decided to also add in a discussion portion to this review because there are so many things that I just need to talk about. The review is definitely going to be over 1000 words long so if you read the whole thing, let’s be best friends 🙂 Also, this review will contain spoilers. So without further ado, let’s get started with the review!
Release Date : 1 September 2015
Published by : Bloomsbury USA Childrens / Bloomsbury UK
Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis :
The queen has returned.
Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…
She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.
She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.
My Rating :  ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository  → US Edition : http://www.bookdepository.com/Queen-of-Shadows-Sarah-J-Maas/9781619636040?ref=grid-view
→ UK Edition : http://www.bookdepository.com/Queen-of-Shadows-Sarah-J-Maas/9781408858615?ref=bd_ser_1
Amazon                  → US Edition : https://www.amazon.com/Queen-Shadows-Throne-Glass-Sarah/dp/1619636042/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1474028637&sr=8-
hong
“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”
In Queen Of Shadows, we see that Aelin Galathynius has returned to Adarlan to fight back for those she loves and it follows the story of her, along with Chaol and the other teammates, going on a journey to get Dorian back and destroy the King of Adarlan. However, Dorian has been possessed by an evil spirit that has been in control of his powers and they wonder if Dorian is still in there somewhere or if he is gone forever. If I could describe this 648 page book in one world, it would be EPIC. Considering the size of Queen Of Shadows, its definitely intimidating but trust me when I say you’ll literally fly through the book. The action and suspense packed in this book kept me hanging at the edge of my seat and combined with the capturing and amazing writing style that Sarah has, it was just amazing. In the novel, there was POVs from Aelin, Chaol, Manon, Elide ( A new character that was introduced ), Dorian / The Demon, Aedion and Rowan and it was just so wonderful getting to read the story from all these different POVs. The storyline was pretty dark, in my opinion, but it was so action-packed and kickass that you would not want to stop reading.
As usual, the world that Sarah has created in this series was spectacular and she’s always so descriptive in her writing. She always describes the atmosphere, the sounds they hear, the smells and it makes you feel like you’re actually there. Her writing style makes you feel that you’re in the story, and that’s something I’ve always appreciated about her and her books. Overall, I felt that the storyline for this book was one of the best in the series because it just flowed together really nicely and like I mentioned a few times, it was really action-packed and suspenseful. The whole story made me smile, cry, scream, hyperventilate, gave me loads of feels and I enjoyed every single bit.
One of my favourite things about Queen of Shadows is the character development. The amount of character development that our beloved characters go through was just unreal and it just made me so happy to see that in the book. Aelin is one of my all time favourite characters and it was amazing to see how far she has come in the series. From an assassin who just wanted freedom to the Queen of Terrasen, we really see how strong and powerful she has become and I just feel so proud of her!
“She looked at them, at the three males who meant everything—more than everything. Then she smiled with every last shred of courage, of desperation, of hope for the glimmer of that glorious future. “Let’s go rattle the stars.”
Next, we have Chaol, Aedion, Dorian and Rowan, aka my four babies. I don’t have much to say about Rowan ( sorry, I still love him though!! ) but throughout the whole story, I just felt so sorry for Chaol, Aedion and Dorian 😦 They were really going through tough times in the book and it just broke my heart, especially for Dorian. Just to briefly explain what happened to those three characters, starting with Chaol, throughout the book he felt that he shouldn’t have left Dorian behind and he battled with wondering if his friend could still be saved or not, and there was just a heavy burden on his shoulders. Aedion was held in the dungeons and was tortured and close to death, but he did get rescued by Aelin and her team. Dorian was being possessed by an evil spirit and it just broke my heart seeing him that way. But, we got to see how they all overcome those struggles and again, character development was on point.
hong
We have come to the last part of this review, and it is the discussion! I hope you guys aren’t bored already but I’ll make the discussion quick 😀 There are actually only three things I want to talk about.
Firstly, Dorian and Manon. I definitely was not expecting that ” connection ” between them! I do ship them to a certain extent but they have rather different personalities and I’m actually very interested to see if they’ll be together and how that will work out. Let me know in the comments how you feel about Dorian and Manon!
“They joined hands.
So the world ended.
And the next one began.”
Secondly, that AMAZING scene between Dorian and Aelin towards the end of the book!! Dorian, through his own eyes, saw that Aelin was there trying to help him and he managed to break free from the demon. Together with their powers, they destroyed the evil. That scene just gave me so much feels and it was honestly a scene that showed how powerful their friendship was with each other.  Friendship was actually something that was present often in Queen of Shadows!
Thirdly, Aelin and Lysandra’s friendship. They both really disliked each other in the past but I really loved how they became more mature and forgave each other for what happened in the past. They were able to just put aside any hate that was between them in the past and work together as team, and that was something I really appreciated. Aelin definitely deserves a new friend after Nehemia and I’m hoping that their friendship will develop into a very strong one!
hong
We’ve finally come to the end of the review and I hope you all managed to stay throughout the whole review 😛 As usual, I hope you guys enjoyed this review and feel free to let me know in the comments any thoughts you have on Queen Of Shadows if you’ve read it. Have a great week ahead and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!
2 thoughts on “{ Book Review + Discussion } : Queen Of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

  1. I LOVEEEEE THIS AS MUCH AS I EXPECTED OMG. I agree with so much! ❤ I have been a Manon and Dorian shipper for SO LONG and the ship always gets me so excited! It's such a surprising ship but I love them so much and I really want to see how they go! I agree OMG the ending with Dorian and Aelin gave me such feels! I really want to see how their friendship grows because from book one I've been loving their friendship so much ❤ AND YES, GIRL FRIENDSHIPS! I love LOVE LOVE Lysandra and Aelin as buddies! Such badass ladies taking over the world by storm! I feel like they both deserve such loyal and amazing friendships and they have it! 🙂 As always, LOVELY REVIEW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

