Others · Recommendations

#DiverseAThon TBR :-)

img_6625

Hi everyone! For today’s post, I thought I would share with you the books I’m planning to read for the #DiverseAThon. If you haven’t heard of this readathon, it’s a week long readathon hosted by lcmarie19 , monicakwatson , squibblesreads and whittynovels, starting from the 12th of September ( tomorrow ) to the 19th of September. There has been a lot of drama and hate towards diversity in literature recently, so this readathon is for us to celebrate diversity in literature and find more books that have diversity in it. This is actually the first readathon I’m taking part in and I’m really excited! Let’s get started with my TBR 🙂

img_6920

1. Sula’s Voyage by Catherine Torres
This is a novel about a girl named Sula who has always felt she doesn’t belong because of her dark skin colour and one day while staying with her mother’s friends, she unexpectedly finds herself on a journey of self discovery. I love reading books with self discovery and I think that this would definitely be a very beautiful and eye-opening read.
2. Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton 
I’m not exactly sure what this book about other than the fact that there is drama, ballerinas, mental illness and heaps of competitiveness. I heard that this book features a range of diverse characters as well so I thought it would be perfect for the readathon 🙂
3. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury 
The Forbidden Wish is a retelling of Aladdin and I’ve been meaning to read it for the longest time ever, so I hope I’ll get to it during the readathon.
4. Aristotle & Dante by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
I’m sure most of you have heard of this novel but if you haven’t, it’s a very summery contemporary novel and our two main characters are gay. I already read this book last year and absolutely loved it, so I thought I would give it a re-read!
5. Gotham Academy #1 by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher and Karl Kerschl
I just received this graphic novel on Thursday and I’m really excited!! I think it’s going to be a fun and action-filled read and this graphic novel is also filled with diverse young characters 🙂

hong

So those are the books that I plan on reading during the #DiverseAThon! I hope you got some recommendations out of this post and also do take part in the readathon as I’m sure it’ll be heaps of fun 🙂 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!

img_6579

 

10 thoughts on “#DiverseAThon TBR :-)

  1. This sounds like a great readathon! I wish I could participate, but I just went back to school so I have quite a bit of homework plus I have a few review copies that have been sitting on my shelves for way too long that I should really get around to. 😛 Good luck with the readathon though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like a fun readathon. Maybe I’ll pencil it in to my schedule for next year. Right now I’m trying to focus on the ARCs I currently have and of course, I’ve decided to showcase a number of self-published books this month, so Self-Publish September is taking up most of my reading time. Good luck with your first readathon.

    You should look into Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon, which will take place again on October 22nd.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay! I’m already planning my TBR for Dewey’s Readathon. It’s held twice a year (April and October), and I read 5 books in 24 hours in April. Right now I’ve picked 6 books for October, but I think I’m going to pick 2 or 3 more, just in case. I had quite a few distractions last time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

