Others

My Bookstagram Journey ( And Tips!! )

IMG_6232
Hi everyone! First off, today’s my birthday so happy birthday to me!! 😀
happy-birthday-minions-gif-5
Today I thought I would share with you guys about something that is a really big part of my life and that is Bookstagram. I’m sure most of you have heard / are part of this community but if you haven’t, it is a community on Instagram where we share our love for books and reading through photos. It is a very fun community that lets us not only take photos of books and share our love, but it’s a community where we meet people who share the same interests as us and it’s a community that also unleashes our creativity through photos. So I decided that in today’s post, I’m going to be talking about my journey through bookstagram, how it has changed me and some tips if you’re interested in joining this wonderful community 🙂
IMG_6215.jpg
I first started my bookstagram account ( @ rachaelrexds ) on 24th January 2016 and I decided to start one because apart from my blog, I wanted another platform where I can meet more people. Also, I always loved taking photos of books so I thought it would be fun to share them on bookstagram. It was definitely scary when I first started my account because I didn’t know anyone and I was honestly pretty intimidated by all the bigger accounts that I followed. The first few followers that I remembered were Sienna from mybookishland  , Alicia from hashtaglovebooks.alica and Ngoc from happycomesfirst ❤ They were so welcoming and both of them are actually my very close friends now! I got to meet Sienna last month when she visited Singapore and I’m meeting Ngoc in December!!! * screams in excitement *
IMG_6216
Bookstagram helped me to slowly improve my photography skills and it helped me become more creative in my photos! As you can see from the photo above, my bookstagram has definitely changed a lot in terms of the way I take photos. It also introduce me to a whole community of people who shared the same love for books as me! That was probably the best thing that I got out of bookstagram because I now have a bunch of really close friends whom share the same interests as me and they are people that I feel so comfortable with ❤ Some of my amazing friends that I’ve made ( apart from Sienna and Ngoc ) are Monika from printsnpixels , Jezell from fragilemyths , beauty.books , Raquel from raquelreads , Jenna from wanderfulpageshiraethforthepages , Anne from annerose2602  , Enqi from enqiofthenightcourt and Renee from thebookishaffair !
hong
If you’re thinking about joining the bookstagram community, DO IT!! 🙂 It’s such a welcoming community and it can literally change your life forever. A tip that I have is not to worry too much about having billions of followers or a perfect theme. All that matters is that you’re having fun sharing your love for books. To be honest, when I first started my bookstagram, I focused too much on making sure that my page’s layout was perfect and I also focused too much on gaining followers, and that dampened my mood so please don’t be like me haha!
Take this opportunity to join some book clubs to help you meet some new people and take this opportunity to also experiment with your photos and find your style. It’s always fun to play around with different photo angles as well as add in props such as flowers, candles, funko pops, food etc. For me, I found out that I really like my photos to be bright and flower-y. So yes, slowly discover your style and just have fun!
IMG_6229
( Examples of different photo angles that I experiment with )

IMG_6230

( Props that I use frequently! )

hong

That it’s for today’s post and I hope you guys enjoyed reading about my bookstagram journey and found some of the tips helpful. Today’s question of the day is : What is / are your favourite thing(s) about the bookstagram community? I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments 🙂 Have a great week and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!
12 thoughts on “My Bookstagram Journey ( And Tips!! )

  1. I love meeting people in the bookstagram community who has similar taste for books! I get recommendations from them and they get some from me, plus, there’s always something to talk about. Another thing I love is how we are united by one thing – books, we defend each other when somethung happens and celebrate together for a new book release! I just really love the community! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday!!!
    I recently joined to bookstagram community, my favourite thing is how friendly and encouraging everyone is. I had been putting off because it is fairly daunting with all the amazing accounts out there, but I am glad I joined up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rachael you’re really so sweet ❤ i'm infinitely glad i met you too tbh and happy birthday!! ps. i have something for your present and i'll pass it to you when we next see each other 😉 (are you available on 24 sept, saturday? i've marked that down as treat-yourself-to-books-after-horrible-exams day)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

