Graphic Novel Reviews

{ GRAPHIC NOVEL REVIEW } : I Hate Fairyland #1 by Scottie Young

IMG_4309
Hello everyone! For today’s blogpost, I thought I would do a graphic novel review which is something I’ve never done on my blog before 🙂 As I’ve been in the midst of my final year exams, I haven’t had the time to pick up books to read and it drove me into a reading slump so I decided to try out graphic novels. I’ve never really been interested in reading graphic novels and the only graphic novel that I’ve read was Nimona by Noelle Stevenson but I felt that maybe they could help me get out of my reading slump.
I decided to pick up the first volume of I Hate Fairyland from the bookstore because it was really cheap and I’ve heard it was amazing, and I absolutely LOVED IT so I thought I would share my thoughts on this graphic novel and maybe you guys would be interested to pick it up as well! Just a little ” warning “, this graphic novel is pretty violent and it contains coarse language so I wouldn’t recommend it to younger audiences. Now let’s get started with the review ❤
hong
Release Date : 20 April 2016
Published By : Image Comics
Genre : Fantasy, Humor 
Synopsis :
From superstar writer and artist Skottie Young (Rocket Raccoon, Wizard of OZ, Fortunately, The Milk), comes the first volume of an all-new series of adventure and mayhem.
An Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epic that smashes its cute little face against grown-up, Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness. Follow Gert, a forty year old woman stuck in a six year old’s body who has been trapped in the magical world of Fairyland for nearly thirty years. Join her and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood-soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND. 
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ /  ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy It Here :
Book Depository → https://www.bookdepository.com/I-Hate-Fairyland–Volume-1/9781632156853
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Hate-Fairyland-Madly-Ever-After/dp/1632156857/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1472465223&sr=1-1&keywords=i+hate+fairyland
CrBPmm6VUAAyO03
This story follows our main character, Gert, who gets sucked into the floor when she was a kid and was then transport to Fairyland. A normal girl would probably be excited about being transported to this magical world, but Gert was definitely not happy because she has to go on a quest to find a key which would allow her to return back home. 27 years later, we see that Gert is now an older woman still trap in her younger self’s body and she is still trying to find the key and bringing havoc to Fairyland at the same time 🙂 The storyline was so hilarious and entertaining and it made me laugh out loud so many times! I liked how this book still gave off Alice In Wonderland vibes even though it was pretty gory and violent at times. The whole story is full of kick-ass action and adventures and you definitely will not feel bored when reading this. The artwork in this graphic novel was AMAZING. It really made Fairyland seem like such a fun place to be in, with lots of different lands and interesting creatures! The art style is very colourful and vibrant, and it is full of detail. I found myself staring at the artwork a lot and I really wish I could frame some of the pages up on my wall ❤
CrBPmlOVUAAL2-9
My favourite character in this graphic novel is obviously Gert! She is literally the most hilarious and badass person ever, and it’s actually pretty entertaining to see her blow up different creatures and just causing havoc in general. She’s definitely a very unique and hot-tempered character and I love following her story! We also have the side characters such as Gert’s companion and the Queen of Fairyland. The Queen of Fairyland was also really hilarious and she’s always trying to destroy Gert but obviously fails at it.
hong
Overall, if you love violent but hilarious graphic novels with vibrant artwork with an Alice In Wonderland vibe to it, do check out I Hate Fairyland!! If you’ve read this graphic novel before, I would love to hear your thoughts about it in the comments 🙂 Also, the second volume comes out in December 2016 and I’m definitely going to be pre-ordering it soon. I hope you all enjoyed this post and have a lovely week! ❤
Leave a Reply

