Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Confess by Colleen Hoover

IMG_0667
Hi everyone! For today’s blogpost, I’m going to be reviewing Confess by Colleen Hoover 🙂 This is the second Colleen Hoover book I read ( the first being November 9 ) and it was once again a really great and well-written novel. Even though I enjoyed November 9 a little more, Confess was still a really enjoyable read and I’m excited to share my thoughts with you all! If you would like to check out my review for November 9 before reading this review, click HERE to be directed to it. Also, this review will contain spoilers. Without further ado, let’s get started ❤
Release Date : 10 March 2015
Published by : Atria Books
Genres : New Adult, Romance, Fiction 
Synopsis :
Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.
For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.
The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → http://www.bookdepository.com/Confess-Colleen-Hoover/9781476791456?ref=grid-view
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Confess-Novel-Colleen-Hoover/dp/1476791457/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1471509660&sr=1-1&keywords=confess+colleen+hoover
hong
[ Trigger warning ] Before going into the novel, do take note that there are topics of drug possession / addiction, violence and grief in the novel. 
Colleen Hoover never fails to amaze me with how amazing and well-written her novels are. Confess basically follows Auburn who one day stumbles upon a job at an art studio owned by a man named Owen and of course, they fall in love. But what Auburn doesn’t know is that Owen has been keeping a secret from her which can ruin their relationship. Even though the plot might seem really normal, the whole story was just so much more than that and there were quite a few twists that I literally did not see coming. Also, I can’t get over how the storyline flowed so nicely together! All the different plot points linked together so nicely and it’s honestly so fantastic. One thing I liked about this novel was the use of different art work and confessions that actually played a part in the storyline itself. The artwork in the book was just so pretty! ❤ As mentioned in the trigger warning, topics such as drugs, violence and grief were mixed into different parts of the novel and these are indeed very dark topics to talk about, but the author still managed to incorporate the love story into the book nicely and I felt that she handled those topics well.
Going into the romance, there was a tiny bit of insta-love in my opinion but I think that Auburn and Owen did make a really cute couple and they both truly accept each other despite any mistakes they have made in the past. Overall, their love just felt really genuine and I really enjoyed seeing how their relationship developed throughout the novel. Lastly, let’s talk about the characters 🙂 I’m going to be talking about Auburn and Owen, of course, as well as two other characters named Emory and Trey.
Starting off with Auburn, I really appreciate how she isn’t a perfect character I think of her as someone who is strong. At the start of the book, Auburn says her final goodbye to Adam, who was her boyfriend back then, as he was dying and thus she had to deal with the grief of losing someone close to her. We also find out in the middle of the novel that two weeks after Adam passed away, she found out she was pregnant with her and Adam’s child, who is now called AJ. I think it’s wonderful how she managed to overcome all these different obstacles in her life and it didn’t change her from being goal-oriented. Auburn is also a very good mother towards AJ and we can really see how much she loves him. She has a friend / roommate called Emory and I absolutely love their friendship. Emory is someone who is sassy yet really cares and looks out for Auburn and I always appreciate seeing these sort of friendships in novels!
Owen is an artist and even though he may seem like a normal person, he dealt with drug possession and addiction in the past. I overall liked his character and it was interesting reading about his past life and how he moved on from that. The last character I’m going to talk about is the character I hate the most, and that is Trey who is Adam’s brother. I literally wanted to punch him because he was so heartless and abusive, and he deserves to rot #sorrynotsorry . I won’t say the things he did to make me dislike it but you’ll probably understand why I feel that way towards him if you’ve read the book.
hong
That is all for my review of Confess! I hope you all enjoyed it and definitely go pick up this book if you haven’t because it’s a really great book, and also let me know in the comments if you have read this book and if you liked it 🙂 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!
2 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : Confess by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

