Recommendations

Conquering Reading Slumps :)

IMG_6537.jpg
Hi everyone! 🙂 For today’s blogpost, I thought it would be fun and helpful to share with you all some of my personal tips and tricks on getting out of reading slumps, and also some recommendations of books that can possibly help you get out of a slump. I’m definitely not an expert in giving tips but I hope that this post will help!
So what is a reading slump? A reading slump is literally one of the MOST HORRIBLE FEELING a reader can ever feel and it can happen differently. Reading slumps can occur when you’ve read an amazing book and then you start feeling that no book will ever be as good as it, or it can happen when you’ve been busy with school / work / binge-watching Youtube and neglecting your reading, and suddenly no book seems attractive nor interesting to you. Basically, it’s a horrific nightmare. I get reading slumps at least twice a month and then I will end up binge-watching videos, so here are some of my tips to help you fight that slump 🙂
Tip #1 : Don’t force yourself to read if you really don’t feel like it 
If you really can’t find a book you feel like reading, then don’t read. It’s totally okay to take  a few days off from reading. Forcing yourself to pick up a book to read just for the sake of wanting to quickly get out of the slump might make you end up disliking the book. It can also cause you to be frustrated when trying to find a book to read. So just take a step back and take a break from reading for awhile!!
Tip #2 : Don’t get too addicted to watching Youtube Videos ( aka what always happens to me ) 
Whenever I fall into a slump, the first place I’ll go to is Youtube and I’ll literally binge-watch videos for a week and not read. It’s obviously acceptable to watch videos when you’re in a slump but don’t get too addicted to it until you neglect reading. Some videos I would recommend would be other booktuber’s tips on getting out of reading slumps as well as book recommendation videos as maybe you’ll discover a book that attracts your attention 😀
Tip #3 : Participate in Readathons/ Reading Sprints
The next two tips apply to those who are in slumps but still have the urge to pick up a book to read. Readathons & Reading Sprints are great ways to really motivate you and get you in that reading slump. I’ve never taken part in Readathons before but I’ve seen a few such as Bout of Books ( 22-28 August, 2016 ), Booktubeathon ( it runs twice a year, if not mistaken ),  TBR TAKEDOWN, Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon ( October 2016, I think ) and Cremation ( Every December ). As for Reading Sprints, you can check out @readingsprints on Twitter!
Tip 4 : Keep your options open
When I’m in a slump, I’ll pick a book from some genres and then decide which genre I feel like reading at the moment. A genre that helps most people get out of their slump is Young Adult contemporary, or even New Adult romance. Light-hearted and quick love stories are always great for conquering slumps. Some Young Adult fantasy books are alright, especially retellings, but I wouldn’t recommend picking up High Fantasy novels with complex world building and lots of characters because they’ll just give you a headache.
Here are some of my recommendations for different genres 🙂
  • Young Adult Contemporaries 
Any Morgan Matson / Kasie West / Huntley Fitzpatrick books, Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella, Burn for Burn trilogy by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
  • New Adult Romance
Colleen Hoover’s novels. November 9 helped me get out of my slump and her books are just amazing ❤
  • Young Adult / Middle Grade Fantasy or Retellings 
The Shadow Queen by C.J Redwine, The Percy Jackson and The Olympians series, The Harry Potter series ( Always great for slumps! ), My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows
  • Young Adult Sci-fi 
The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, Alienated by Melissa Landers
hong
That is all for today’s post! I really hope you found the tips / recommendations helpful and do let me know in the comments if you have any additional tips that help you get out of reading slumps 🙂 Have a great week and I will see you in my next post, bye!

 

8 thoughts on “Conquering Reading Slumps :)

  1. Love the post!! I was in a reading slump not too long ago and ended up taking 3 weeks to read 1 book. Netflix doesn’t help be being there with autoplay. I’ve never really thought of participating in reading sprints. I might try that next time (hopefully don’t) I get in a reading slump 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. November 9 is my very next TO READ!! I get so excited every time I see someone mention books that are fast approaching on my list… I might sound dumb, but the reassurance is always so nice lol, kind of like a confirmation that I made the right choice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

