Book Reviews

{ Book Review } : Harry Potter & The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

CpVQBnrUsAAa982.jpg
Happy Monday!! The time has come for me to do my review for Harry Potter and The Cursed Child 🙂 If you haven’t heard of HP & The Cursed Child ( which I’m sure all of you have ), it is the ” 8th Harry Potter book ” and it is the script for the play in London. It is technically known as the 8th Harry Potter book because it picks off from where Deathly Hallows ended.
Before I get started, just a couple of warnings for you. Firstly, this review will contain mild spoilers so please read the book before reading my review! Secondly, I would recommend for you to finish reading the Harry Potter series before reading Cursed Child because there are spoilers for the previous 7 books in Cursed Child. My overall thoughts about the book is that it was definitely an enjoyable read but I did feel disappointed as I felt the book could’ve been done better and there were a few issues I had which I will talk about in the review. Without further ado, let’s get started!
hong
Release Date : 31st July 2016
Published by : Little Brown UK
Genres : Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult
Synopsis :
Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.
My Rating :  ♥♥♥♥ /  ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → http://www.bookdepository.com/Harry-Potter-Cursed-Child-Parts-I-II-J-K-Rowling/9780751565355
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Harry-Potter-Cursed-Child-Production/dp/1338099132
hong
Starting off with the plot, it was definitely exciting and it made me want to continue reading on, but I felt that there were certain chapters in the script that were confusing because there were so many things going on at the same time and it was really messy. It took me a long time to get used to the fact that this book wasn’t as magical as the previous 7 books were. It was much darker and serious and it might be because Harry and the rest of the characters are adults and there is a lot of weight on their shoulders. This made me feel a little sad because I just didn’t get that same feeling when reading the previous books 😦 Also, some parts of the plot were quite predictable, for example, when Albus was sorted into Slytherin.
One thing that really bugged me was the writing style in the novel. I wasn’t expecting the writing style to be amazing because it was in a script format, but the whole novel was literally written like a fan fiction and I’ve heard many people say the same thing. Other than that, everything else was great! I absolutely loved the world building and it just gave me a sense of nostalgia being back in Hogwarts 🙂
As for the characters, it was nice seeing all the old characters again and it was nice seeing how the friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione was still strong! I also liked seeing Draco in the book and seeing his ” relationship ” develop with Harry. They did have their quarrels but they ended the book on good terms ❤ We also got to see Amos Diggory, Cedric Diggory ( in flashbacks ), Albus Dumbledore ( in the painting ) and Snape! The scene in the script with Snape just made me emotional because we got to see a different side of him that wasn’t cold. The story mainly follows the children of our loved characters and we get to see the friendships developed between them. I personally didn’t like Harry’s son Albus, who is the main protagonist of the book, but I loved the friendship between him and Scorpius who is Draco’s son. I definitely wasn’t expecting a friendship between them but I love them both as a team 🙂
Harry Potter actually does also go through a lot of character development in the novel. He did get into quite a number of fights with his son because he was so stressed out with work and he found it hard to understand where Albus was coming from. However towards the end of the story, you see how Harry realises from his mistake and reconciles with his son!
hong
Even though I had problems with the script, it was still an enjoyable read and I’m just glad to have been back in this amazing world that J.K Rowling has created ❤ Do let me know your thoughts about HP & The Cursed Child if you’ve read it and I will see you in my next blogpost, bye!!

 

6 thoughts on “{ Book Review } : Harry Potter & The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

  1. I am glad you enjoyed this, most people didn’t really enjoy it all that much. I’m dying to get my hands on this book and have my own thoughts on it!!! I can’t wait honestly hahaha

    PS, I found you on my twitter so I decided to give you some love and follow your blog 🙂
    Jumana @ Books by Jay

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just finished reading this book, initially when i got the book, i was quite surprised to see it is a scripted version, I was wondering whether I got the wrong book, but then i realised there is no other publication.

    I was a bit disappointed that it was a script and really bothers me, was considering whether I should even DNF this book, but the familiarity of the characters and scene makes me continue reading, it turn out to be quite good actually. It brings back memories from all the past books and I am happy I did not give it up at the start. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

