Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – November 9 by Colleen Hoover

IMG_4668.jpg
Hello everyone, today’s blogpost is going to my review for November 9 by Colleen Hoover. I’m sure most of you know that romance novels aren’t my cup of tea but I’ve always heard amazing things about Colleen Hoover’s novels so I picked November 9 up and I am now obsessed with her books ❤ I literally went on a Colleen Hoover book buying binge right after finishing November 9 haha!
Overall, November 9 was a really cute and touching read. Looking back, I realised that there were some issues I had with the book but it was still a wonderful story so I gave it 4 stars 🙂 This review is 100% spoiler free so I hope you all will enjoy this review!
hong
Release Date : 10 November 2015
Published by : Atria Books 
Genres : New adult, contemporary 
Synopsis :
Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.
Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.
My rating : ♥♥♥♥ /  ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → https://www.bookdepository.com/November-9-Colleen-Hoover/9781501110344
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/November-9-Novel-Colleen-Hoover/dp/1501110349
hong
So starting off with what I liked about this novel, I really enjoyed the overall storyline of the novel! Everything went together really nicely and I liked how the novel isn’t cheesy / cliche. Colleen Hoover has such a beautiful and captivating write style and it keeps you wanting to carry on reading the book.
Secondly, I liked the romance between Fallon and Ben. Their romance does seem a little insta-lovey at the beginning but throughout the book, it really develops into a beautiful relationship and even though I’m not the biggest fan of Ben’s character, they are my new OTP ❤ I liked that their romance wasn’t cheesy and it was realistic most of the time!
Lastly, I liked Fallon as the main character. When reading contemporary novels, be it Young Adult or Adult, I always have a problem with the main female character because sometimes they’re so blinded by love that they can’t think for themselves / think practically and then do stupid stuff. Fallon isn’t like that and she’s such a strong character who stands up for herself and always thinks through before making a decision.
Moving on to the things I didn’t like about the novel, I firstly didn’t like the insta-love that happened in the beginning of the novel. The story starts off with Fallon and her father having a small dispute at lunch and Ben, who was seated nearby, overheard their conversation. Pretending to be Fallon’s boyfriend, he goes over to their table and tries to help Fallon and that’s when the romance begins. I just felt it was a little unrealistic but I still liked the development of their relationship. Next, I had a problem with Ben’s character. There are times where I like him because he’s really sweet to Fallon and I feel that he does go through good character development as the story progresses. However, he creeped me out at the start of the novel and there were also times where some of his actions were totally unacceptable.
Lastly, I didn’t like that this book had the message that you need a guy to make you feel beautiful. Fallon isn’t a perfect character and she struggled with self-love because she has scars all over due to an accident in the past. The only times where she started loving herself a little more was when Ben kept telling her he loved her scars etc, and I actually didn’t realise this until I was writing my Goodreads review. I think that this isn’t the sort of message that should be spread to the readers.
hong
That concludes the end of my really long review! Overall, I still really enjoyed this book and I cannot wait to read more Colleen Hoover books in the future 😀 Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in my next blogpost, bye!!

 

 

6 thoughts on “{ Book Review } – November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. AMAZING REVIEW!!! November 9 is the only CoHo book I want to read, and this review made the wait even more enthralling and exciting for me haha. I like how you didn’t like that this book had the message that you need a guy to make you feel beautiful. Tahat’s a really brave and important opinion of yours, and some people might just not say it or care. But it’s something people should know more xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

