Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

IMG_2436.jpg
Hello everyone, hope you all had a fabulous weekend!
For today’s post, I am going to be doing my book review for A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes. This is the first book in the spin-off trilogy to the Falling Kingdoms series and to be honest, I was overall a little disappointed with this book. I really loved the Falling Kingdoms series but A Book of Spirits and Thieves kind of fell flat for me 😦 I will be talking more about my thoughts in the review so let’s get started!!
Release Date : 23 June 2015 
Published By : Razorbill Books
Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy 
Synopsis :
Modern-day sisters discover deadly ancient magic in book 1 of this Falling Kingdoms spin-off series!
Worlds collide in this suspenseful, page-turning Falling Kingdoms spin-off series, which explores a whole new side of Mytica—and an even darker version of its magic.
Crystal Hatcher, Modern-day Toronto: It’s a normal afternoon in her mother’s antique bookshop when Crys witnesses the unthinkable: her little sister Becca collapses into a coma after becoming mesmerized by a mysterious book written in an unrecognizable language.
Maddox Corso, Ancient Mytica: Maddox Corso doesn’t think much of it when he spots an unfamiliar girl in his small village. Until, that is, he realizes that she is a spirit, and he is the only one who can see or hear her. Her name is Becca Hatcher, and she needs Maddox to help get her home.
Farrell Grayson, Modern-day Toronto: Rich and aimless Farrell Grayson is thrilled when the mysterious leader of the ultra-secret Hawkspear Society invites him into the fold. But when he learns exactly what he has to do to prove himself, Farrell starts to question everything he thought he knew about family, loyalty, and himself….
Fate has brought these young people together, but ancient magic threatens to rip them apart.
My Rating : ♥♥♥.5 /  ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository → http://www.bookdepository.com/Book-of-Spirits-and-Thieves-Morgan-Rhodes/9781595147592?ref=grid-view
Amazon → https://www.amazon.com/Book-Spirits-Thieves-Morgan-Rhodes/dp/1595147594
hong.png
Plot :
I felt that the storyline was good and the whole story linked up really well, but one problem I had was the pacing of the novel. The middle part was just draggy and there was too much dialogue, and this caused the ending to be a little rushed because 90% of the action happened there. The ending of the novel was just okay and it wasn’t anything special, which made me unsure if I want to continue with the series.
But apart from that, everything else was good! I enjoyed the storyline and the writing style, and I loved the magic elements that were present 🙂
World-Building : 
The world-building in this novel is actually really interesting because the story takes place in two different time periods simultaneously, Modern-Day and Ancient. We have Modern-Day Toronto, which is where we meet Crystal, Becca and Farrell, and we have Ancient Mytica which is where Maddox is from!
I personally prefer Ancient Mystica ( which is where Falling Kingdoms was set ) because there was a lot more room for world-building there as compared to Toronto and we got to explore different places that weren’t mentioned in the Falling Kingdoms series! Mytica is still such a magical world and I’m excited to see more of it throughout this trilogy.
Characters : 
In the novel, we have 4 main characters and they are Crystal, Becca, Maddox, Farrell. My top two favourite characters would Crystal and Becca because they are such kick-ass female characters and they are both so independent in terms of making proper and realistic decisions and they are also not naive when put in certain situations!
* SPOILERS BELOW, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK *
I just had to talk about the romance between Becca and Maddox because they make such an adorable couple!! ❤ I already expected them to fall in love at some point in the novel because they were spending so much time together and Maddox already thought she was beautiful from the start. I liked how their romance didn’t happen instantly and that it just slowly developed over time.
hong
That is all for my review and I hope you all enjoyed it! I might still be picking up the next book because I need more of Becca and Maddox ❤ Even though I only gave this book a 3.5 stars, I would still recommend it if you enjoyed Falling Kingdoms. I hope you all have a great week ahead and I will see you guys in my next post, bye!! 😀
One thought on “{ Book Review } – A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

  1. I LOVED THIS! I always love how you changed the flower divider!! These flowers are super pretty😍Amazing Blogpost as usual😉💕Keep Posting!🌟🌟🌟

    Like

Leave a Reply

