Others

Overhyped Books :/

IMG_1473.jpg
Hello everyone! For today’s blogpost, I am going to be talking about some of the books that I personally feel are overhyped. These are just my opinions and if any of the books I’ve listed are your favourite, please don’t be offended! ❤ I actually like seeing different opinions of certain books, be it good or bad haha. Let’s get started with the post!
1) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Ever since the movie trailer for MBY was released, the book got a crazy amount of hype and everyone was just raving about how this book was amazing and they cried so much, so I picked it up out of curiosity HAHA 😀
Unfortunately, I didn’t like it as much as everyone did and I think I gave it a 3.5 stars on Goodreads. I felt that the plot was just slow and the romance literally didn’t develop until towards the end of the novel and I was just disappointed overall.
2) Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
I have never read any Alexandra Bracken book before, but everyone was literally talking about Passenger when it came out and I bought it because I did like the synopsis. Once again, it was disappointing. I felt that the beginning of the book was great and it did hook me into the story but the story got slower and slower as the story progressed, and it was just boring so I DNF it 😦 I might give it another try in the near future!
3) Any John Green novel ( sorry !! )
The first John Green novel I read was TFIOS, and then Looking For Alaska and lastly Paper Towns ( I lost interest in his other two novels after that ). I actually did like his novels back when I read them, which was about 2 years ago, but looking back I felt that they were just pretty normal novels and nothing stood out from it. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy his novels, but they were just too overhyped.
4) Angelfall by Susan Ee
Angelfall is the first book in a dystopian / angels / apocalypse type trilogy and I went into this book with high expectations because everyone LOVES this book but I didn’t enjoy it. I guess it’s because I’m not much of a paranormal-dystopian fan and I wasn’t attached to the plot nor the characters.
5) Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead
Another super popular book series that I felt was overhyped! I generally did enjoy the series but it was definitely overhyped in my opinion. I thought the whole series was just okay, nothing really stood out for me. I did like the characters, but it was just the plot that fell flat :/
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
That is all for today’s post and I hope you guys enjoyed it! Do let me know what are your thoughts about the books I mentioned, I would love to see your opinions on them 🙂 See you in my next post!
10 thoughts on “Overhyped Books :/

  1. i most especially agree with John Green books. ITS WAYYYY TOO OVER HYPED. But maybe I can’t say that because I’ve never read any? To me and i know very well this is the reason why I haven’t picked up any of his books- it’s because of the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand with MBY, for me the movie kind of messed up the book hahaha. I have no interest in reading it. So meh.
    As for the Vampire Academy series, it’s pretty normal. I watched the movie and it was like any normal teenage vampire love crap. There’s the bad guys, the good guys and one weirdo in between. Good girl bad girl. Yep pretty much normal vampire stuff. The naming was very well thought however. So i guess that’s good?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never actually read any John Green books before and they’re so hyped so I’m just trying to push my expectations down. I’m still making my way through Vampire Academy and I’m not finding it too special yet – like you I’m enjoying it and I’m going to continue because I’ve heard it gets better. Great list!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely agree with you about John Green’s novels. I’ve read three of his books (the same three you read, actually) and the only one I truly enjoyed was TFIOS. In my opinion, the others were okay but nothing that great and I really don’t think they should be as hyped up as they are. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

