Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – The Trials Of Apollo ( Hidden Oracle ) by Rick Riordan

IMG_0809.jpg
Hello everyone, hope you all had a great week!!
Today I am finally back with another book review, and the book that I am reviewing is The Hidden Oracle ( or otherwise known as The Trials of Apollo ) by Rick Riordan 😀 This is the first instalment in Rick Riordan’s new series following the god Apollo. I overall really enjoyed this book and it was just wonderful to be back in the world and see all the characters whom we love again 😀 This is mostly going to be a spoiler free review, but there’s a small portion below that isn’t spoiler free and I have already put a warning there!
Also, this book is sort of a continuation from the Heroes Of Olympus series so if you haven’t read that series yet, please do so as there are spoilers for it in The Hidden Oracle. Hope you’ll enjoy this review ❤
Release Date : 3rd May 2016
Published By : Disney Hyperion
Genres : Middle-grade, fantasy, mythology
Synopsis : 
How do you punish an immortal?
By making him human.
After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.
But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ /  ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here :
Book Depository  → http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Trials-of-Apollo–Book-One–The-Hidden-Oracle/9781484732748
Amazon  → https://www.amazon.com/Trials-Apollo-Book-Hidden-Oracle/dp/148473274X/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331

MY REVIEW 🙂
Plot : 
The story starts with Apollo waking up and realising that he is now a mortal, and he goes to Camp Half-Blood, along with his sidekick Meg, to seek help. But when he arrives, he realises that things there are worse than expected. I overall found the plot really well-placed and action packed! What I enjoy most about Rick Riordan’s books is that the plots are never draggy and the pacing is always just right 🙂 I love the writing style and the whole plot just keeps you glued to the book as there’s a lot of action and humour at the same time.
The battle scene are seriously the best part of the novel and there’s also a twist that I seriously did not see coming OMG. I won’t say what happened because it’s a spoiler free review but it added so much more to the novel and I’m so excited to see how the plot continues on in the next book!
World-Building : 
In this novel, we get to re-visit Camp Half-Blood and even the Labyrinth from Battle of the Labyrinth!! Even though there isn’t much world-building because it’s still set in the same world, it was still nice to be back in Camp Half-Blood as it just gave me so much nostalgia and I overall just love the world ❤
Characters : 

IMG_0811.jpg

( Fanart by http://indigonite.tumblr.com )
” Zeus needed someone to blame, so of course he’d picked the handsomest, most talented, most popular god in the pantheon: me.” – Apollo
The first character I am going to talk about is Apollo, who is our main character. I actually really loved Apollo as our main character more than I thought I would! Apollo is so hilarious and I laughed so much while reading the book because he is just so funny and sassy. I loved his character development throughout the novel as he changes from a god who was clueless and had just been turned into a human to a brave human warrior who learned how to appreciate others and not just think of himself only. I also loved how the author added Apollo’s weird haikus’ at the top of the start of each chapter as they were so fun to read and it was also really funny because none of them make sense 😀
The next character I am going to talk about is Meg, who is Apollo’s sidekick. She comes off as really brave and as someone who doesn’t care what others think of her. She is able to stand up to bullies and evil monsters and she does help save Apollo’s life a few times. We also get to learn more about her past in the book, which I won’t mention because SPOILERS and I can’t wait to see more of her in the next book!
Lastly, we have the old characters from the previous two series that we all love and adore, such as PERCY ❤ , Will, Nico De Angelo, Chiron and Rachel Elizabeth Dare. I was so super happy to see all of them again and these characters being back in Camp Half-Blood again just gives me so much nostalgia, I literally wanted to cry :’)
 “Some of the best demigods have gotten their start by blowing up toilets.” MUCH NOSTALGIA
* SPOILERS BELOW, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK *
Okay, I know this is suppose to be a spoiler free review but I just had to add this particular character into my review, so if you have not read The Trials Of Apollo AND / OR the last book in the Heroes Of Olympus series, PLEASE SKIP THIS PART 😀
The character that I want to just quickly talk about is Leo Valdez!! ❤ If you’ve read the last book in the Heroes Of Olympus series, you would know that Leo supposedly died but was healed by Calypso ( who we first see in the PJ & The Olympians series ) and they both go on a journey to escape from the island that she is trapped in. I LITERALLY SCREAMED WHEN HE ARRIVED AT CAMP HALF-BLOOD OMG!!!! He managed to find his way back with Calypso and OMG it was so awkward when Percy and Calypso saw each other 😀 But yeah, I am just so happy that Leo is back and hopefully we will get to see more of him in the next book.
Would I recommend? 
UM YES???!?!?! I would definitely recommend it to everyone, especially fans of Rick Riordan’s books!! It’s such an amazing quick read if you’re in a slump and this book made me laugh so much and it just made me really happy ❤

cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331

That is all for my review and I hope you all enjoyed it! Do support the author and pick up this book as it is just AMAZING, and I will see you all in my next post. Have a great weekend! 😀

 

One thought on “{ Book Review } – The Trials Of Apollo ( Hidden Oracle ) by Rick Riordan

  1. ONCE I SAW SPOILERS WARNING I SCROLLED DOWN HEHEH BUT I LOVE THIS REVIEW SO MUCH. I cant wait to finish PJO and then HoO ooooohhhh so excited. Then there’s the Magnus Bane and hahahahah soooooo farrrr away. Apollo seems cute hehe. Your reviews always make me excited! KEEP IT UP RACH!!!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

