Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday : Favourite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone ( 06/07/16 )

IMG_0129.jpg
Hi everyone, welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday! 🙂
Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey from GingerreadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, I will be linking both their channels as well as the T5W Goodreads group down below. The first topic for the month of July is ” Favourite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone ” and I had a really fun time picking out books for this topic. Hope you all enjoy this post! ❤
Lainey’s channel : https://www.youtube.com/user/gingerreadslainey
Sam’s channel : https://www.youtube.com/user/ThoughtsOnTomes
T5W Goodreads Group : http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/118368-top-5-wednesday
1) The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
This is a high fantasy novel, and it took me awhile to finally pick up a high fantasy novel because I knew that the plot and world-building were more complex as compared to a young adult fantasy and that I might also take a long time to absorb the whole story. Basically, I was intimidated by the genre 😀
BUT, I’ve heard so many great things about Brandon Sanderson’s novels so I decided to pick The Final Empire up and I realised that I actually really love high fantasy books!! So yay, I’m glad that I read this book that was out of my comfort zone ❤
2) Salt To The Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Salt To The Sea is a historical fiction novel and I think I have said this on my blog before, but historical fiction would probably be my least favourite genre, not that I hate it but it’s just a genre that I can’t get into. However, I heard so many good things about Ruta Sepetys’ books so I picked STTS up and I actually really enjoyed it!! It didn’t get me crazy about historical fiction novels but it was just a really beautiful and life-changing read.
3) The Martian by Andy Weir
Another genre that I rarely pick up is Science Fiction, especially YA sci-fi novels. I think the only YA sci-fi series I own and loved is The Lunar Chronicles. I still wanted to give the genre another try so I picked up The Martian and OMG IT WAS AMAZING. I really enjoyed it because the main character was so sassy and I liked how there isn’t any romance, unlike many YA sci-fi novels 🙂
4) The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon 
The Bone Season is a dystopian-y book in my opinion haha, I’m not actually sure what the exact genre is but it comes off as a dystopian novel to me! I don’t read a lot of Dystopian books either so I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy this book but I actually did 😀
I have yet to pick up the sequel but I loved the storyline and the characters. Definitely check this book out if you haven’t heard of it!
5) My Heart And Other Black Holes by Jasmine Wanga
This is a YA contemporary novel dealing with mental illness and contemporaries aren’t my thing, but I absolutely loved this book! I loved the romance as it wasn’t cheesy nor insta-lovey and I felt that the author handled the mental illness aspects really well 🙂

cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331

That is all for today’s post, I hope you all enjoyed it and I’ll see you in my next post. Have a great week!! 😀

 

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Favourite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone ( 06/07/16 )

  1. I used to be soooo hesitant to pick up high fantasy as well but now I love it! I’ll definitely try The Final Empire. Love the post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Martian was definitely outside my comfort zone as well & I really enjoyed it! The Bone Season totally intimidates me, but one of my good friends highly recommends it so I’ll probably eventually get around to it xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

