Uncategorized

#RexdsTalksAbout : YA Retellings :)

IMG_6569.jpg
 Hi everyone, hope you all had a fabulous weekend! ❤
I’m going to be starting a random new segment on my blog called #RexdsTalksAbout . During this segment, I’m going to be discussing about random book things and it can range from different book genres to discussions about pet peeves in books and any exciting bookish news that may have happened!
Today’s discussion topic is going to be about a book genre, which is Young Adult retellings. I will be talking about what is this genre about and why I love it, retelling recommendations and some retellings that I hope to read in the future. I hope you all will enjoy this post 😀
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
1) What are retellings?
Retellings are a newer version of an old story. For example, it can be an old fairytale that has been retold or modernised into a new story, with the original aspects of the fairytale still present in the story. Hopefully that made sense haha, I’m so bad at explaining things 😛
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
2) Why do I love retellings?
I personally love retellings because they’re always such quick and fun reads, and they are perfect books to read if you’re in a reading slump. I also really enjoy seeing how the author puts his / her own twist to a well-known fairytale!
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
3) Retelling Recommendations
IMG_6560.jpg
My first recommendation is The Shadow Queen by C.J Redwine. This is a YA retelling of Snow White and I absolutely loved it!! I initially had pretty low expectations for the book because it had mixed reviews on Goodreads, but this book seriously blew my mind and I just flew threw it 🙂 It’s super action packed with adorable romance and it’s a great book to get you out of a reading slump!
IMG_6567.jpg
My second recommendation is The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer!! ❤ This is a YA sci-fi / dystopian series and each book’s is its own retelling! Overall, the whole series consists of  fairytale stories mixed together and I really love this series . The plot was amazing and I loved all of the characters, even the villain 😀
IMG_6557.jpg
My last recommendation would be The Wrath And The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. This is a retelling of A Thousand And One Nights and this book made it on my ” Top Books Of 2015 ” list! I have a full review of the duology so click HERE if you would like to see more of my thoughts on it, but overall it was a really magical book with beautiful writing and beautiful romance ❤
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
4) Retellings I hope to read in the future
IMG_6556.jpg
– The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury 
This is a retelling of Aladdin and I’m super excited to pick it up because I’ve never read a retelling of Aladdin before and I’ve heard amazing reviews from Goodreads and friends 🙂
IMG_6561.jpg
– Overland by Wendy Spinale 
This is a steampunk retelling of Peter Pan and the cover looks GORGEOUS. The plot really intrigued me and I honestly love anything that has to do with Peter Pan so I’ll definitely be buying this book soon!
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
That concludes today’s post and I really hope that you all enjoyed it 😀 Do let me know in the comments if there are any book-related topics you would like me to discuss about in this segment. Have a great week ahead!! ❤
5 thoughts on “#RexdsTalksAbout : YA Retellings :)

  1. OOOOOOOOOOO THIS POST WAS AMAZING IDK WHY IM ONLY READING IT NOW UUGGGHHH!!!! I LOVE ALL YOUR RETELLING RECOOMENDATIONS:-]

    Like

Leave a Reply

