Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_4419.jpg
Hey everyone, hope you all had a wonderful weekend!
I am back today with a book review, and I’m going to be reviewing A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas!!! ❤ I am SO EXCITED to be reviewing this book for you all because I absolutely love this book and I’m sure many people love it too, so I’m very excited to discuss it with you all 🙂 I have a review up of the first book, which is A Court Of Thorns And Roses, so click HERE if you would like to read that first before reading this!
Before I get started, I would like to mention two things. Firstly, I’m going to try to make this review as spoiler-free as I can but I will definitely give you a warning if there are spoilers. Secondly, just wanted to mention again that ACOTAR and ACOMAF have pretty explicit scenes included so for the younger readers out there, do take note 🙂
Release date : 3 May 2016
Published by : Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Generes : Young Adult, Fantasy, New Adult, Romance
Synopsis : Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.
With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
Moving on to my thoughts about the book,
Plot : 
Starting from the beginning of the book, there wasn’t much action because Feyre was just taken to the Night Court by Rhys as part of the bargain. She is then introduced to the people there and learning more about Rhys and the impending war. I felt that despite all the talking and explaining that happened, the plot wasn’t slow and draggy and it still made me want to find out more and continue reading.
The plot definitely got more action-packed as the book progress and it kept you in suspense at times because this book is seriously full of twist and turns 😀 AND OMG CAN WE TALK ABOUT THAT ENDING?!?!?! I can’t say much because I’m trying to keep this spoiler free but for those who have read the book, you will understand why I’m screaming UGH. I guess all I can say is, be prepared for a rollercoaster of emotions 😦
World-Building : 
Once again, beautiful world-building. In this novel, we got to see more of the Night Court which is so beautiful, I can literally imagine it in my head. I don’t know how Sarah creates such an amazing and vivid world, it’s literally breathtaking.
” The hall around us was open to the elements, no windows to be found, just towering pillars and gossamer curtains, swaying in that jasmine-scented breeze. “
Characters : 
I didn’t feel much for Feyre in this novel to be honest, but there were times where she was so annoying that I almost wanted to put down the book. I don’t know if I will ever like her character but we shall see.
I absolutely hated Tamilin in this novel. I felt that he was really controlling of Feyre, in a way that made her suffocate, and he just didn’t give her any space. The part that angered me most about him was when he put shields around Feyre’s room so that she couldn’t escape / wander off and that made me angry because it was as though she was his prisoner and he didn’t give her much freedom. In many parts of the book, Feyre wanted to go out and hunt with Tamlin and his group but he kept denying her the rights. I guess I should cut short my rant about Tamlin but overall, he was just annoying and too controlling.
“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”
Moving on a more positive note, let’s talk about Rhysand and his group of friends! I absolutely loved Rhysand in this book and I felt that he went through the most character development 🙂 We were also introduced to his group of friends in the Night Court called the inner circle, and my favourites would be Azriel and Mor!! I love their individual personalities and I can’t wait to read more about them in the next book.
Romance :
Starting off with the romance between Feyre and Tamlin, it was awful. I’m sorry to anyone who ships Feyre and Tamlin but I just can’t. My personal opinion of their relationship is that it is just purely lust. I feel that the love between the both of them wasn’t very sincere rather than sexual.
You can actually see that the romance between Feyre and Rhysand is just sweet and really genuine. Rhysand gives her enough freedom and he’s always there to protect her and keep her grounded. ❤ There was a point in the novel where Feyre was thinking about her being dead and Rhys felt what she was thinking and he was like ” Don’t you dare think about this ” ( something like that HAHA ) and I literally died.
* SPOILERS BELOW *
Next, Elain and Lucien OMG I seriously did not see that coming. I actually ship them together, like I can see them together as a couple and it’s cute! I’m excited to see their relationship develop in the next book 🙂
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
That is all for this review! I really hope you all enjoyed reading my thoughts about the novel and definitely pick the books up if it appeals to you 🙂 Hope you’ll have a great week and I’ll see you in my next post, bye!
Leave a Reply

