Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – Akarnae by Lynette Noni

IMG_1965.jpg
Hi everyone, hope you all had a great week! ❤
Today’s blogpost is going to be another book review and the book I’m reviewing is Akarnae by Lynette Noni 😀 This book is the first instalment in The Medoran Chronicles and it is also the May BOTM for the Aussie Book Club ( @ aussiebookclub on Instagram ). I actually really enjoyed this novel as it was such a fun and magical read. Like my previous review, I will be splitting the review into different sections so that I can go more in-depth about the book. Hope you will enjoy this review 🙂
Release Date : 1 February 2015
Published By :  Pantera Press
Genres : YA Fantasy, Science Fiction, Adventure
Synopsis : Dreading her first day at a new school, Alex is stunned when she walks through a doorway and finds herself stranded in Medora, a fantasy world full of impossibilities. Desperate to return home, she learns that only a man named Professor Marselle can help her… but he’s missing.
While waiting for him to reappear, Alex attends Akarnae Academy, Medora’s boarding school for teenagers with extraordinary gifts. She soon starts to enjoy her bizarre new world and the friends who embrace her as one of their own, but strange things are happening at Akarnae, and Alex can’t ignore her fear that something unexpected… something sinister… is looming.
An unwilling pawn in a deadly game, Alex’s shoulders bear the crushing weight of an entire race’s survival. Only she can save the Medorans, but what if doing so prevents her from ever returning home?
Will Alex risk her entire world—and maybe even her life—to save Medora?
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Now it’s time for the  review!
Plot :
I felt that the plot was really well-written and the pacing of the novel was just perfect. I loved the boarding school as well as the magical aspects present and I felt that all these little elements really contrasted well throughout the whole novel! To be honest, I don’t usually read books that take place in a boarding school because there can be a lot of dialogue and not much action, but as mentioned earlier, the pacing was great and the dialogue / explanation parts were not draggy at all 🙂
Overall, the plot was just fantastic and full of adventure, and it also has Harry Potter vibes to it which is AWESOME.
World-Building :
I was actually surprised that there was quite a fair bit of world-building in this novel! The premise of the story mainly takes place in the boarding school, so I just assumed that there wouldn’t be much exploration of the world, but I was wrong 😀
The boarding school had a really magical ambience and there were hidden passages and secret rooms, which gave a lot of opportunities for more world-building. The way the author describes the surroundings of different places was just so magical and I absolutely loved reading the descriptions! I think that my favourite place in this world would be The Library as there were a lot of adventures that took place and it just seems like a place full of mystery and wonder ❤
Characters :
We have our 3 main characters, Alexandra, Jordan and Bear! I love all of them so much and they seriously remind me of the golden trio from Harry Potter ❤ I absolutely adore their friendship and they are all such fun people, like I would love to be friends with them in real life haha!
In terms of character development, I feel that Alexandra goes through a lot of that because she has to get used to being in this new environment and also discover what special gifts she has. Throughout the novel, she also develops into a selfless and brave character who puts others before herself no matter what and it was honestly one of the best character developments I’ve read 🙂
Another character I felt that went through a lot of character development is D.C . When we are first introduced to her character, we are given the vibe that she’s very anti-social and stuck-up but we get to see her backstory at the end of the novel and why she sort of ” pushes people away “!
cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331
To conclude my review, this was a really great read and you should definitely go and support Lynette Noni and her book if the story appeals to you 😀 I hope you all enjoyed this review and I’ll see you in my next blogpost, bye!!
Leave a Reply

