Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

IMG_0316.jpg

 Happy weekend everyone!! 😀 Today’s blogpost is going to be my review for The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. I’m super excited to be reviewing this book for you all because this book was such a magical and phenomenal read. I hope that you will enjoy this review and without further ado, let’s get on with the review!
Release Date : 26 April 2016 
Published by : St. Martin’s Griffin 
Genres : Young Adult, Fantasy. Mythology, Romance
Synopsis : Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?
Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…
But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.
My Rating : ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Buy it here : → Book Depository – http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Star-Touched-Queen/9781250085474
                         →  Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Star-Touched-Queen-Roshani-Chokshi/dp/1250085470/ref=la_B014JIF8G4_1_1_twi_har_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1462959593&sr=1-1
IMG_0303.jpgThe Star-Touched Queen is a pretty recent release and it has been getting a lot of hype throughout the book community. This book has Indian Mythology as well as horoscope elements present in the story which I find really cool because I’m always very interested in horoscopes! I’m also going be splitting the review into 3 different sections so that it will be easier for me to address these sections individually.
1) Plot :
The storyline was definitely very unique and beautifully written. I really loved the pacing of the novel as well as the writing style, it was just so beautiful and poetic. The plot is also full of twist and turns that I guarantee you will never see coming 🙂 Also, the storyline was actually more action-packed than I expected, and I found myself getting sucked into the novel right from the beginning.
I think that my favourite part of the story / the whole novel in general would be the world-building. The author did a great job in creating the magical world and the way she describes the different places makes you feel like you’re actually in the novel! She was also very descriptive while describing the different places in the book.
2) Characters :
The characters were just amazing and I loved every single one of them. My favourite character would have to be Amar and Gupta. I like Amar because he is so romantic and the way the author describes how he looks is just PERFECT. I also really like Gupta’s character because he made me laugh a lot in the book , especially when he keeps interrupting the romantic scenes between Maya and Amar 😀
3) Romance :
The romance was just so beautiful and poetic. To be honest, there was a little bit of insta-love at the beginning of the romance but it wasn’t too extreme until it felt ridiculous. You could really feel the chemistry between the couple in the book and I just think their relationship is so sweet and beautiful ❤
Here is one of my favourite quotes said by Maya in the book :
” I see only night and smoke, dreams and glass, embers and wings. And I would not have you any other way. “
Overall, this book was a phenomenal read and it definitely lived up to it’s hype! Do support the author by picking up this book and let me know your thoughts on the book in the comments below if you’ve read it. I hope you all enjoyed this book and have a great weekend!! 😀
7 thoughts on “{ Book Review } – The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Leave a Reply

