Book Reviews

{ Book Review } – The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

IMG_8154

Hi everyone, hope you all had a great week! ❤ Before I start, I just wanted to let you know that I am going to be doing a Q&A blogpost, so if you guys have any questions that you would like to ask, do leave it in the comments down below! 🙂
Today’s blogpost is going to be my review for The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry. I actually mentioned awhile back on my Instagram that I wasn’t going to be doing a full review on it, but I changed my mind 😀 Also, just a little warning, this review isn’t going to be much of a positive review because unfortunately, I did not enjoy this book and I felt that it was really overhyped. However, I still think that you should give this book a chance because you may end up liking it more than I did. So without further ado, here is my review!
Release Date : 26 January 2016
Published by : Razorbill
Genres : Fantasy, Contemporary, Time Travel 
Synopsis : Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.
My Rating : ♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
I guess I’ll start this review off with what I enjoyed about this book! I felt that the book had a really strong beginning as the suspense kicked off during the first chapter, which I really liked as I appreciate books with beginnings that just make you feel super excited for the rest of the book. 🙂 Another aspect I liked was the world-building because it had a really magical feel to it which added a lot for the book and the I felt that the author did a great job in being very descriptive about the worlds that were present in the novel.
Moving on to the things I didn’t like about the book ( 😦 ) :
1) I absolutely HATED the romance aspect of the book. The romance was insta-love and I’ve actually never read books with insta-love romance in it, so if you do not like stories with insta-love then please do not pick this book up. I also found the romance extremely confusing because Natalie seemed to be in love with two guys ( her ex and the boy she has to save ) and I’m honestly not sure if the author intended for it to be love triangle but I just found it really confusing and I found myself questioning ” So who the heck does she love?! ” many many MANY times :/
2) I actually did not like any of the characters, which is really strange because I’ll usually at least like one character even if I disliked the book but I literally did not like any of the characters. I can’t really give you a specific reason as to why I did not like them but I just found myself not caring if anything happened to them.
3) THE PLOT. I mentioned earlier that the book had a really strong start but it fell flat as the book progressed. The middle section of the book was just so slow and boring and I felt that it didn’t benefit the story whatsoever. I also felt that the ending was a little rushed and there wasn’t much climax in my opinion. I also had to re-read the ending a few time to finally understand what happened.

cute-flower-flowers-overlay-Favim.com-1982331

Overall, I really felt that this book did have a lot of potential but maybe it just wasn’t executed well. I would still highly recommend you picking this book up if the plot intrigues you because we all have different tastes in books, so you may actually end up enjoying this book. I hope you all enjoyed this review and do let me know your thoughts about this book if you’ve read it! See you in my next post ❤

 

4 thoughts on “{ Book Review } – The Love That Split The World by Emily Henry

Leave a Reply

